Skip to main content
replaced http://superuser.com/ with https://superuser.com/
Source Link

I edited this questionthis question yesterday as part of a cleanup spree. It had already gotten a fair bit of activity, but someone tweeted a link to it after I edited it, and things really took off.

The topic of the question has both social/interpersonal/human-behavior and technical components. The highest-scoring-by-far answer as I write this Meta post is purely non-technical, unless telling readers to see other answers for technical solutions counts. I commented on that answer and one or two others to say that, because we are on Super User, posts should be technical, even if the technical answer is not the best answer. A few people have disagreed with me.

Am I right? Are the other guys? A little of both, maybe?

I edited this question yesterday as part of a cleanup spree. It had already gotten a fair bit of activity, but someone tweeted a link to it after I edited it, and things really took off.

The topic of the question has both social/interpersonal/human-behavior and technical components. The highest-scoring-by-far answer as I write this Meta post is purely non-technical, unless telling readers to see other answers for technical solutions counts. I commented on that answer and one or two others to say that, because we are on Super User, posts should be technical, even if the technical answer is not the best answer. A few people have disagreed with me.

Am I right? Are the other guys? A little of both, maybe?

I edited this question yesterday as part of a cleanup spree. It had already gotten a fair bit of activity, but someone tweeted a link to it after I edited it, and things really took off.

The topic of the question has both social/interpersonal/human-behavior and technical components. The highest-scoring-by-far answer as I write this Meta post is purely non-technical, unless telling readers to see other answers for technical solutions counts. I commented on that answer and one or two others to say that, because we are on Super User, posts should be technical, even if the technical answer is not the best answer. A few people have disagreed with me.

Am I right? Are the other guys? A little of both, maybe?

Tweeted twitter.com/#!/StackSuper_User/status/111913703288475648
Source Link
Pops
  • 8.5k
  • 14
  • 14

Are purely non-technical answers to technical problems on-topic?

I edited this question yesterday as part of a cleanup spree. It had already gotten a fair bit of activity, but someone tweeted a link to it after I edited it, and things really took off.

The topic of the question has both social/interpersonal/human-behavior and technical components. The highest-scoring-by-far answer as I write this Meta post is purely non-technical, unless telling readers to see other answers for technical solutions counts. I commented on that answer and one or two others to say that, because we are on Super User, posts should be technical, even if the technical answer is not the best answer. A few people have disagreed with me.

Am I right? Are the other guys? A little of both, maybe?