Skip to main content
Copy edited.
Source Link
Peter Mortensen
  • 12.2k
  • 16
  • 11

I think most people want a term to describe:

  • singleSingle user applications, including configuration of (Excel, PowerpointPowerPoint).
  • multiMulti-user applications where the administration or configuration is not in question (Google Apps, Facebook)

This seems perfectly fine, because it matches quite well a mental grouping of Kidskids, Grandmasgrandmas, and Software Enthusiastenthusiasts, and Businessmenbusinessmen. These are all subsets of Users that we have no reason to assume any technical knowledge of.

I find this to be the least awkward way to distinguish what I would like SUSuper User to be. However, I can see splitting off entertainment software out of necessity.

I'd take it one step further and say stuff that comes in a box (hardware) probably doesn't belong on the site all. Price-hunting on discount net-books seems totally uninteresting and out of place.

I think most people want a term to describe:

  • single user applications, including configuration of (Excel, Powerpoint)
  • multi-user applications where the administration or configuration is not in question (Google Apps, Facebook)

This seems perfectly fine, because it matches quite well a mental grouping of Kids, Grandmas, and Software Enthusiast, and Businessmen. These are all subsets of Users that we have no reason to assume any technical knowledge of.

I find this to be the least awkward way to distinguish what I would like SU to be. However, I can see splitting off entertainment software out of necessity.

I'd take it one step further and say stuff that comes in a box (hardware) probably doesn't belong on the site all. Price-hunting on discount net-books seems totally uninteresting and out of place.

I think most people want a term to describe:

  • Single user applications, including configuration of (Excel, PowerPoint).
  • Multi-user applications where the administration or configuration is not in question (Google Apps, Facebook)

This seems perfectly fine, because it matches quite well a mental grouping of kids, grandmas, and Software enthusiasts, and businessmen. These are all subsets of Users that we have no reason to assume any technical knowledge of.

I find this to be the least awkward way to distinguish what I would like Super User to be. However, I can see splitting off entertainment software out of necessity.

I'd take it one step further and say stuff that comes in a box (hardware) probably doesn't belong on the site all. Price-hunting on discount net-books seems totally uninteresting and out of place.

Post Migrated Here from meta.stackexchange.com (revisions)
Source Link
Evan Carroll
  • 9.1k
  • 14
  • 10

I think most people want a term to describe:

  • single user applications, including configuration of (Excel, Powerpoint)
  • multi-user applications where the administration or configuration is not in question (Google Apps, Facebook)

This seems perfectly fine, because it matches quite well a mental grouping of Kids, Grandmas, and Software Enthusiast, and Businessmen. These are all subsets of Users that we have no reason to assume any technical knowledge of.

I find this to be the least awkward way to distinguish what I would like SU to be. However, I can see splitting off entertainment software out of necessity.

I'd take it one step further and say stuff that comes in a box (hardware) probably doesn't belong on the site all. Price-hunting on discount net-books seems totally uninteresting and out of place.