Skip to main content
replaced http://superuser.com/ with https://superuser.com/
Source Link

I just stumbled upon this answer which suggest to use "Windows XP Ultimate"this answer which suggest to use "Windows XP Ultimate", which is in fact a Windows XP System modified by a Third-Party (read: Not Microsoft).

I'm not sure about possible implications, since I don't know as what such Third-Party-Builds are considered if it comes to 'Warez'.

So, what to do with it? I know that illegal actions of any kind should be flagged and punished...but I have no idea where to place this nor if it is an illegal or off-topic action. So the basic question is, are Third-Party-Builds of Windows/MacOSX are considered illegal, or not?

Edit: It seems like that is considered illegal because WPA and CD-Key-Activation was removed, though, that's a little thin because my arguments about torrents come to mind. You can still install Windows XP Ultimate and own Windows XP, so technically it wouldn't be illegal...difficult.

Edit2: The linked answer is gone.

I just stumbled upon this answer which suggest to use "Windows XP Ultimate", which is in fact a Windows XP System modified by a Third-Party (read: Not Microsoft).

I'm not sure about possible implications, since I don't know as what such Third-Party-Builds are considered if it comes to 'Warez'.

So, what to do with it? I know that illegal actions of any kind should be flagged and punished...but I have no idea where to place this nor if it is an illegal or off-topic action. So the basic question is, are Third-Party-Builds of Windows/MacOSX are considered illegal, or not?

Edit: It seems like that is considered illegal because WPA and CD-Key-Activation was removed, though, that's a little thin because my arguments about torrents come to mind. You can still install Windows XP Ultimate and own Windows XP, so technically it wouldn't be illegal...difficult.

Edit2: The linked answer is gone.

I just stumbled upon this answer which suggest to use "Windows XP Ultimate", which is in fact a Windows XP System modified by a Third-Party (read: Not Microsoft).

I'm not sure about possible implications, since I don't know as what such Third-Party-Builds are considered if it comes to 'Warez'.

So, what to do with it? I know that illegal actions of any kind should be flagged and punished...but I have no idea where to place this nor if it is an illegal or off-topic action. So the basic question is, are Third-Party-Builds of Windows/MacOSX are considered illegal, or not?

Edit: It seems like that is considered illegal because WPA and CD-Key-Activation was removed, though, that's a little thin because my arguments about torrents come to mind. You can still install Windows XP Ultimate and own Windows XP, so technically it wouldn't be illegal...difficult.

Edit2: The linked answer is gone.

replaced http://meta.superuser.com/ with https://meta.superuser.com/
Source Link
replaced http://meta.superuser.com/ with https://meta.superuser.com/
Source Link

I just stumbled upon this answer which suggest to use "Windows XP Ultimate", which is in fact a Windows XP System modified by a Third-Party (read: Not Microsoft).

I'm not sure about possible implications, since I don't know as what such Third-Party-Builds are considered if it comes to 'Warez'.

So, what to do with it? I know that illegal actions of any kind should be flagged and punished...but I have no idea where to place this nor if it is an illegal or off-topic action. So the basic question is, are Third-Party-Builds of Windows/MacOSX are considered illegal, or not?

Edit: It seems like that is considered illegal because WPA and CD-Key-Activation was removed, though, that's a little thin because my arguments about torrents come to mindabout torrents come to mind. You can still install Windows XP Ultimate and own Windows XP, so technically it wouldn't be illegal...difficult.

Edit2: The linked answer is gone.

I just stumbled upon this answer which suggest to use "Windows XP Ultimate", which is in fact a Windows XP System modified by a Third-Party (read: Not Microsoft).

I'm not sure about possible implications, since I don't know as what such Third-Party-Builds are considered if it comes to 'Warez'.

So, what to do with it? I know that illegal actions of any kind should be flagged and punished...but I have no idea where to place this nor if it is an illegal or off-topic action. So the basic question is, are Third-Party-Builds of Windows/MacOSX are considered illegal, or not?

Edit: It seems like that is considered illegal because WPA and CD-Key-Activation was removed, though, that's a little thin because my arguments about torrents come to mind. You can still install Windows XP Ultimate and own Windows XP, so technically it wouldn't be illegal...difficult.

Edit2: The linked answer is gone.

I just stumbled upon this answer which suggest to use "Windows XP Ultimate", which is in fact a Windows XP System modified by a Third-Party (read: Not Microsoft).

I'm not sure about possible implications, since I don't know as what such Third-Party-Builds are considered if it comes to 'Warez'.

So, what to do with it? I know that illegal actions of any kind should be flagged and punished...but I have no idea where to place this nor if it is an illegal or off-topic action. So the basic question is, are Third-Party-Builds of Windows/MacOSX are considered illegal, or not?

Edit: It seems like that is considered illegal because WPA and CD-Key-Activation was removed, though, that's a little thin because my arguments about torrents come to mind. You can still install Windows XP Ultimate and own Windows XP, so technically it wouldn't be illegal...difficult.

Edit2: The linked answer is gone.

edited title
Link
Bobby
  • 9k
  • 14
  • 12
Loading
added 41 characters in body
Source Link
Bobby
  • 9k
  • 14
  • 12
Loading
Added some toughts.
Source Link
Bobby
  • 9k
  • 14
  • 12
Loading
Tried to clarify my question...I think I suck at english...
Source Link
Bobby
  • 9k
  • 14
  • 12
Loading
edited title
Link
Bobby
  • 9k
  • 14
  • 12
Loading
Source Link
Bobby
  • 9k
  • 14
  • 12
Loading