Skip to main content
8 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Feb 12, 2018 at 9:45 history tweeted twitter.com/super_user/status/962985928758300672
Feb 6, 2018 at 16:36 history edited Peter Mortensen CC BY-SA 3.0
Copy edited.
Feb 6, 2018 at 2:26 vote accept laggingreflex
Feb 6, 2018 at 1:30 answer added allquixotic timeline score: 15
Feb 6, 2018 at 0:14 comment added laggingreflex It makes sense. This answer has indeed helped me and I can attest to my "version" of it. I actually would've rearranged the registry steps even more in a way that I think would make most sense (and would work too, like I said, I've tested these steps myself). Anyways, thanks for pointing this out, this is exactly what I needed to know. I'll watch out for such subtleties in the future.
Feb 6, 2018 at 0:04 comment added fixer1234 For example, you rearranged some steps, which may be a procedural change. The reviewer isn't going to retest your procedure to verify that it still works, or even verify the sequence in which things appear in a procedure. Minor cleanup for grammar or readability may not be warranted on quoted material; save such improvements for quoted material that has serious (non-technical) problems.
Feb 6, 2018 at 0:04 comment added fixer1234 One thing I noticed is that you modified a direct quote. The quotation was the OP's intent. There's nothing wrong with rephrasing or otherwise improving something found elsewhere. But then you become responsible for the content, including any subtle change you might inadvertently introduce. They become your words. So improving on quoted material introduces added responsibility, particularly if you have not personally tested the solution. Reviewers should similarly be careful of allowing inadvertent technical changes. (cont'd)
Feb 5, 2018 at 23:39 history asked laggingreflex CC BY-SA 3.0