Skip to main content
8 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Oct 6, 2019 at 15:56 comment added Ramhound @Run5k - I don’t downvote every bad question or answer. I have no particular reason for not issuing a downvote.
Oct 6, 2019 at 8:14 comment added Run5k @Ramhound and your answer was definitely beneficial! But I think that you misunderstood what I said. I am wondering why the OP's question wasn't worthy of a downvote, not your answer. It definitely did not show any research effort, and as I said in my last post, he could have found the solution himself with a simple Google search in less than half the time that it took to write/post the question on Super User.
Oct 6, 2019 at 0:36 comment added Ramhound @Run5k - I could not stand by and allow the author of that question, to trust the other answer they received, and believe there wasn't a way to disable the effect they asked about. The fact I answered that particular question, had to do with the fact an incorrect answer was submitted, and I wanted to correct that fact.
Oct 5, 2019 at 21:51 comment added Run5k @Ramhound it's safe to say that you and I will always differ on our perspective regarding downvotes. However, let me play "devil's advocate" for just a moment. While you authored a very good answer to this question, how is that query not worthy of a downvote? The tool tip specifically says "This question does not show any research effort," and if the OP had typed the same wording from their question's subject line into a Google search he would find the exact same How-To Geek article that you referenced, and much faster than posting on Super User.
Oct 25, 2018 at 18:52 comment added Run5k @Ramhound, you are too modest, good sir! You are definitely one of Super User's most outstanding community members, and definitely qualify as a "prolific contributor." Your expertise and proactive nature are very well-known. Honestly, from my perspective there certainly isn't anything wrong with your distribution of down-votes. But when it's combined with a much more conservative philosophy regarding bestowing up-votes, I think the end result might be problematic (as I described in my answer). As I emphasized within the original text of this question, it goes against the Super User philosophy.
Oct 25, 2018 at 18:28 comment added Run5k @Ramhound, you know that I always value your input. While we will occasionally encounter community members who are more defensive than they probably should be, I think that they are the exception. It shouldn't be too difficult to provide articulate feedback with a positive spin on it. But back to the original point of my question, I firmly believe that the most prolific contributors within the Super User realm should not have a much larger of number of down-votes issued compared to up-votes. Lofty standards for up-votes combined with liberal usage of downvotes seems counterproductive.
Feb 26, 2017 at 15:02 comment added Run5k Thanks for the good feedback. While I agree that "Not everyone takes well to being mentored by comments," I believe that is also a double-edged sword. As someone who was new to Super User five months ago, I can attest that some of those comments (and not just the built-in reviewer's template variety) can occasionally come across as impatient, condescending, and even rude. From what I have seen in various Super User and Meta discussions, others have voiced similar concerns. Unfortunately, it is rather easy to become overly defensive after a few of those brusque encounters.
Feb 26, 2017 at 9:16 history answered Journeyman GeekMod CC BY-SA 3.0