Skip to main content
11 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Feb 23, 2017 at 7:37 comment added numbermaniac It's incredibly annoying when I try to edit a post because there's a comment saying the current answer has an error in the code, but the edit is then rejected with the message "This should have been left as a comment", EVEN THOUGH THERE ALREADY WAS A COMMENT THERE! :(
Feb 19, 2017 at 21:47 comment added I say Reinstate Monica @Braiam I agree with the edits you made to the MSE post.
Feb 19, 2017 at 14:14 comment added Braiam @Twisty that was written exclusively with the SO mentality. SE in general welcomes edits that improve posts as you can see in the help center: If you see something that needs improvement, click edit! I changed the post (HA!) to make sure that it stays close to the help center rather than a specific site philosophy.
Feb 19, 2017 at 13:44 comment added Braiam HAHAHAHA, this answer goes against the "establishment" on MSO. I wonder what was the turning point.
Feb 13, 2017 at 16:20 history edited allquixotic CC BY-SA 3.0
edited body
Feb 11, 2017 at 22:10 comment added I say Reinstate Monica @allquixotic Out of curiosity what do you think of the highest voted answer to the Meta question What are the guidelines for reviewing? instructing reviewers to reject "Edits that attempt to add clarification to an answer, like “this doesn’t work in Windows 8”...."?
Feb 11, 2017 at 22:05 comment added WBT The question was meant to be at least somewhat more general than one specific edit, so that answers can be applied as guidance for the future. I generally agree with your sentiments here, but just wanted to clarify.
Feb 11, 2017 at 22:02 comment added allquixotic Thanks for that clarification @WBT, I don't disagree. My answer was more general and not actually focused on the specifics of your question, which might've been a mistake on my part (your question, indeed, is about this specific scenario, not the general case). But I hope I also succeeded in sharing with you my view of how I think some subset of the users (who both review suggested edits, and post answers) view the editing "etiquette" on SE. I personally find this sort of position to be a detriment to the site, but it's tolerated or even encouraged by influential folk, so it continues. Meh
Feb 11, 2017 at 21:59 comment added WBT Just to be clear, in this particular case it was not the answerer who rejected the edit (comments suggest the answerer would have approved it, given the chance) but other high-rep users who may have assumed the answerer prefers the ownership perspective you described.
Feb 11, 2017 at 21:56 history edited allquixotic CC BY-SA 3.0
added 80 characters in body
Feb 11, 2017 at 21:51 history answered allquixotic CC BY-SA 3.0