Skip to main content
replaced http://meta.stackexchange.com/ with https://meta.stackexchange.com/
Source Link

We should absolutely be closing unsalvageable HNQs faster. Hot Network Questions are the only thing many people see of our site, and I think we should make sure they show off our best. That's why I take a minute every so often to play "hunt the duplicate" when we get a new HNQ. I know it feels awkward to stop someone from repcapping by closing an HNQ, but we really shouldn't let already-asked or bad questions be presented as our latest and greatest. (Relevant MSE proposal.Relevant MSE proposal.)

I could have sworn there's an MSE proposal to let moderators remove a given question on their site from HNQ, but I can't find it at the moment.

If the question can be salvaged, I see no reason to not save it. If it's interesting - and especially if it has already attracted a great answer - we have the opportunity to polish it up and show it to the world.

We should absolutely be closing unsalvageable HNQs faster. Hot Network Questions are the only thing many people see of our site, and I think we should make sure they show off our best. That's why I take a minute every so often to play "hunt the duplicate" when we get a new HNQ. I know it feels awkward to stop someone from repcapping by closing an HNQ, but we really shouldn't let already-asked or bad questions be presented as our latest and greatest. (Relevant MSE proposal.)

I could have sworn there's an MSE proposal to let moderators remove a given question on their site from HNQ, but I can't find it at the moment.

If the question can be salvaged, I see no reason to not save it. If it's interesting - and especially if it has already attracted a great answer - we have the opportunity to polish it up and show it to the world.

We should absolutely be closing unsalvageable HNQs faster. Hot Network Questions are the only thing many people see of our site, and I think we should make sure they show off our best. That's why I take a minute every so often to play "hunt the duplicate" when we get a new HNQ. I know it feels awkward to stop someone from repcapping by closing an HNQ, but we really shouldn't let already-asked or bad questions be presented as our latest and greatest. (Relevant MSE proposal.)

I could have sworn there's an MSE proposal to let moderators remove a given question on their site from HNQ, but I can't find it at the moment.

If the question can be salvaged, I see no reason to not save it. If it's interesting - and especially if it has already attracted a great answer - we have the opportunity to polish it up and show it to the world.

Source Link
Ben N
  • 41.3k
  • 28
  • 56

We should absolutely be closing unsalvageable HNQs faster. Hot Network Questions are the only thing many people see of our site, and I think we should make sure they show off our best. That's why I take a minute every so often to play "hunt the duplicate" when we get a new HNQ. I know it feels awkward to stop someone from repcapping by closing an HNQ, but we really shouldn't let already-asked or bad questions be presented as our latest and greatest. (Relevant MSE proposal.)

I could have sworn there's an MSE proposal to let moderators remove a given question on their site from HNQ, but I can't find it at the moment.

If the question can be salvaged, I see no reason to not save it. If it's interesting - and especially if it has already attracted a great answer - we have the opportunity to polish it up and show it to the world.