Skip to main content
edited tags
Link
CWilson
  • 101
  • 3
Source Link
CWilson
  • 101
  • 3

Is SU the appropriate place to ask how hardware affects code?

Tried to ask a question about the differences between a certain tablet and a desktop computer, for purposes of a certain software. I see differences, and need to understand the source of these differences, so I can later go and fix the code on my own. Didn't go well.

Fixing the code is under the purview of SO, optimizing the code is CR... is SU the right place to ask why there is a difference in the first place? Or to ask how does this hardware impact the implementation of the OS?

Were my would-be answerers a bit over-zealous in asking for proprietary code that I don't own anymore but still need to support, or are such questions out of scope for SU? If so, is there somewhere besides the tour that explains the scope of SU in a little more detail, and gives me more specific information about where to ask a question like the above?