Skip to main content
Active reading [<https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sentence_clause_structure#Run-on_sentences>].
Source Link
Peter Mortensen
  • 31.4k
  • 4
  • 22
  • 14

I see questions like this one being marked duplicate of What is a debugger and how can it help me diagnose problems?. I get the sentiment.

But clearly, OP is not asking what is a debugger, is; they are asking something else. Maybe the question they are asking is not interesting, doesn't show research or is not useful. Still, it is factually not asking what is a debugger is and as such not a duplicate.

Do we really want SO to be so rude? Are we so arrogant as to tell people "Oh, I believe you are asking me what is a debugger, do is. Do you want a passive-aggressive answer?"

On a more positive note, I guess I'm asking what the proper way to deal with these question is. Should they be closed "Need more focus?". "Need debugging details" would be at least a notch friendlier. It implies the same, but it conveys it in a less abrasive way.

I see questions like this one being marked duplicate of What is a debugger and how can it help me diagnose problems?. I get the sentiment.

But clearly, OP is not asking what is a debugger, they are asking something else. Maybe the question they are asking is not interesting, doesn't show research or is not useful. Still, it is factually not asking what is a debugger and as such not a duplicate.

Do we really want SO to be so rude? Are we so arrogant as to tell people "Oh, I believe you are asking me what is a debugger, do you want a passive-aggressive answer?"

On a more positive note, I guess I'm asking what the proper way to deal with these question is. Should they be closed "Need more focus?". "Need debugging details" would be at least a notch friendlier. It implies the same, but conveys it in a less abrasive way.

I see questions like this one being marked duplicate of What is a debugger and how can it help me diagnose problems?. I get the sentiment.

But clearly, OP is not asking what a debugger is; they are asking something else. Maybe the question they are asking is not interesting, doesn't show research or is not useful. Still, it is factually not asking what a debugger is and as such not a duplicate.

Do we really want SO to be so rude? Are we so arrogant as to tell people "Oh, I believe you are asking me what a debugger is. Do you want a passive-aggressive answer?"

On a more positive note, I guess I'm asking what the proper way to deal with these question is. Should they be closed "Need more focus?". "Need debugging details" would be at least a notch friendlier. It implies the same, but it conveys it in a less abrasive way.

Source Link
Jeffrey
  • 11.3k
  • 10
  • 6

When should one duplicate a question to "What is a debugger and how can it help me diagnose problems?"

I see questions like this one being marked duplicate of What is a debugger and how can it help me diagnose problems?. I get the sentiment.

But clearly, OP is not asking what is a debugger, they are asking something else. Maybe the question they are asking is not interesting, doesn't show research or is not useful. Still, it is factually not asking what is a debugger and as such not a duplicate.

Do we really want SO to be so rude? Are we so arrogant as to tell people "Oh, I believe you are asking me what is a debugger, do you want a passive-aggressive answer?"

On a more positive note, I guess I'm asking what the proper way to deal with these question is. Should they be closed "Need more focus?". "Need debugging details" would be at least a notch friendlier. It implies the same, but conveys it in a less abrasive way.