Skip to main content

Timeline for Sunsetting Jobs & Developer Story

Current License: CC BY-SA 4.0

8 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Apr 1, 2022 at 10:25 comment added Vinay Sharma Instead of wasting development efforts on the stupid filter feature which adds no value to end-users, you could’ve continued with the jobs and developer story. At least they were not useless.
Jan 25, 2022 at 16:26 comment added WestCoastProjects @jrh Your work does not sound boring. It appears you actually mean lesser known . That makes more sense: one can often do more interesting work at lesser known since you have a wider impact within the company. A tiny piece of work at a huge company may affect more people but it's hard to "feel" that day to day.
Jan 25, 2022 at 15:52 comment added Jon Ericson @WestCoastProjects: Personal contacts mostly. Though thinking about it a bit more, I'm probably overstating it a bit because of my unique experiences.
Jan 25, 2022 at 0:14 comment added jrh I mean, I have gotten great opportunities by recruiter cold calls. I like boring companies, you all can fight over who gets the one exciting position at Google making the next thing they'll kill off in 2 years. I'm quite happy making a decent living doing interesting, practical things at companies people underestimate or forgot about.
Jan 23, 2022 at 16:55 comment added WestCoastProjects "Desirable jobs, in my experience, get filled by qualified candidates without a lot of beating the bushes to flush them out." How do these qualified candidates find the jobs in your experience?
Jan 15, 2022 at 0:10 comment added Jon Ericson @ruffin: I didn't use Indeed when I was laid off, but in fairness I don't think they'd yet hit on the idea of using pitchers as pitchmen. My point wasn't that Indeed was better at providing candidates or even any good. Instead I was hoping to communicate that 1) they're trying to get more people to use the service as applicants and 2) there are tons of job search companies these days. I also think it's hilarious that Max Scherzer was between jobs, had 30 employers knocking on his door and he picked the Mets. Maybe not the best career coach.
Jan 14, 2022 at 23:29 comment added ruffin "There's barely any indication of what features Indeed brings to the table." But do they make you want to use Indeed? I mean, there's no better warrior-god playing than Max, the organ was hilarious, & I know which one is the freaking pitching eye, but have you seen the applicants Indeed churns out? Many are not top-shelf, self-screened, intrinsically motivated devs. I mean, maybe Apple, Google, and MS can convince us to apply by bombarding us, but didn't we already know if we wanted to work there?
Jan 14, 2022 at 20:48 history answered Jon Ericson CC BY-SA 4.0