Skip to main content

Timeline for Sunsetting Jobs & Developer Story

Current License: CC BY-SA 4.0

26 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jun 5, 2022 at 13:39 comment added Ian Steffy I bet money that SO was paid to shut this feature down. The amount of transparency it enforced with posting salary ranges and salary calculators was threatening to some employers. Thus the feeble leaders at SO bent the knee for a nice pay-check.
Mar 29, 2022 at 6:39 comment added sn- I wish this is an April fool prank.
Mar 8, 2022 at 10:33 comment added Jens Ingels Has part of this decision involved privacy issues? I made a change to my Dev Story yesterday and today I already received a call on my private home number today where they used this new information.
Feb 13, 2022 at 20:47 comment added sheldonhull Salary calculator going makes sense. Levels.fyi or other options would be better to continue to crowdsource proven offers. That said I also got my job from a recruiter through stack overflow. Makes sense but I feel this could have been a great area for stack overflow to shine with a unique landing page instead of a GitHub profile landing page.
Feb 8, 2022 at 0:49 comment added rvnlord This post is the first I downvoted, I hate this decision. It is disappointing and frustrating, I received many wonderful and personalised recommendations through SO (it is the best platform for this kind of thing imo). Obviously it is your business so also your prerogative to do what you see fit and I have no choice but to respect it but please reconsider.
Feb 7, 2022 at 17:45 comment added Ryanman I wanted to chime in and say that while I haven't gotten a position through Jobs, I had incredible opportunities through it and made very valuable connections. The signal to noise ratio was the best of any job board I could find. I'm also sad about Developer Story. I really liked having it connected to my account. Finally as someone who hires SO boards was priced out of reach for my company for a bit. We just got big enough to afford it. Not mad - business is business - but I am disappointed.
Feb 7, 2022 at 16:16 comment added Rethunk "Stack Overflow provides the best candidates compared to other inbound candidate pipelines." I found this to be true as well. SO has had a competitive advantage for years. I've recommended StackOverflow as THE place to find qualified developers. For one job I posted, the first SO applicant and subsequent applicants were all better than applicants found by other means. And the support from the SO rep was top notch.
Feb 7, 2022 at 11:43 comment added Roland Sounds like a bad April Fools joke
Feb 7, 2022 at 11:38 comment added The Otterlord The salary calculator could be open-sourced or (more likely) recreated using updated data. If someone is able to recreate the model using the 2021 developer survey (or they open-source that part of the project) I'd be happy to create the frontend, backend and even host it.
Feb 7, 2022 at 10:13 comment added Delali Personally, I understand the decision. But it is so very sad to see SO jobs go. I don't know how to feel right now, but we hope for the best.
Feb 5, 2022 at 21:44 comment added thebluephantom Really crappy decision and just decided without consulting.
Jan 24, 2022 at 17:36 comment added zcoop98 @WalterMonecke People being unconstructively antagonistic and nasty towards anyone, including the company, has never, and will never, be allowed anywhere on Stack Exchange. There are plenty of valid critiques that are sticking around just fine– the attacks, however, should not.
Jan 24, 2022 at 12:39 comment added Walter Monecke The mods removing comments of people lashing against this decision is the new SO meta.
Jan 22, 2022 at 17:34 comment added sytech It was also a shame when the ability for companies to reach out to users was removed. One company I'm working for hired much of our development team that way, now we're struggling significantly using other methods. As a candidate, I've gotten two contracting opportunities that way. I've tried several other sites to find contracting work, but none work as well as SO, partly because SO highlights my skills so much better than other sites. I'm really sad to see developer stories go away because it's in all my resumes I send out to companies when applying/bidding to jobs.
Jan 20, 2022 at 5:57 comment added daya-shankar07 I am really Sad that SO Jobs are going away. I have personally used it extensively and frequently recommend to lots of people in my network. Please reconsider.
Jan 19, 2022 at 14:48 comment added moy2010 Yes, the 2020 and 2021 surveys asked for the salary as well. It's just that the data wasn't used to update the salary calculator.
Jan 17, 2022 at 21:56 comment added TylerH Did they ask about salary in the 2020 and 2021 surveys? I know the survey question sets have been pretty wacky the last couple years, so they may have just not included that info.
Jan 14, 2022 at 19:34 comment added zcoop98 Given, since the survey data is public and anonymized, couldn't someone recreate the salary calculator based on the same data (both now and in the future)?
Jan 14, 2022 at 18:00 comment added Makoto The irony of the most useful feature not having been updated since '19 is not lost on me...
Jan 14, 2022 at 12:45 comment added peterh @Clonkex I think, doing something once in a year, maybe it is cheaper by hand.
Jan 14, 2022 at 12:43 comment added peterh @animuson There were developer surveys in 2020 and in 2021, too. Why there were no one to import the new data? The company is big and until now I knew it so, Job SO is one of its top money maker.
Jan 14, 2022 at 2:15 comment added jhpratt @animuson Then can we update the data? Or worst case just open source the salary calculator and release anonymized data? I've no doubt a number of people, myself included, would be willing to help upkeep it.
Jan 14, 2022 at 0:25 comment added Clonkex @animuson Out of curiosity... why is no one infusing fresh data? Surely that could be easily automated?
Jan 13, 2022 at 21:28 history edited 41686d6564 CC BY-SA 4.0
added 80 characters in body
Jan 13, 2022 at 21:20 comment added animuson StaffMod Just a quick note: the salary calculator is based off the developer survey, but specifically the 2019 developer survey. It has not been updated since then. I also liked the salary calculator as a feature, but it becomes increasingly less useful when the data starts getting stale because no one is infusing fresh data.
Jan 13, 2022 at 20:56 history answered AndyMod CC BY-SA 4.0