Skip to main content
11 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Nov 6, 2023 at 11:03 history edited Adriaan CC BY-SA 4.0
Written out month names so as to not confuse non-US persons
Oct 18, 2023 at 1:38 history edited Travis J CC BY-SA 4.0
added 266 characters in body
Apr 1, 2022 at 20:45 history edited Travis J CC BY-SA 4.0
added 206 characters in body
Jan 27, 2022 at 20:45 history edited Travis J CC BY-SA 4.0
rearranged post to be more relevant to the current time of reading
Jan 25, 2022 at 22:40 history edited Travis J CC BY-SA 4.0
added 257 characters in body
Jan 24, 2022 at 19:36 history edited Travis J CC BY-SA 4.0
added 260 characters in body
Jun 21, 2021 at 18:05 comment added NoDataDumpNoContribution Just a small comment on a possible evolution of Q&A either by StackOverflow/Naspers or by anyone else: I would like to see better matchmaking between those with questions and those with answers. I know which kind of questions I'd like to answer but I don't want to spend much time on finding those first. I guess that a good chunk of Q&A done right would deal with bringing the right kind of people together and that there is still room for improvement. I basically don't mind if others have different criteria for what is worth their time, the system could just would work better for everyone.
Jun 21, 2021 at 17:43 comment added NoDataDumpNoContribution There is surely something to it, I agree. Many questions could be salvaged with a bit of patience while the initial impulse rather seems to be to close as much as possible. On the other hand I see like 95% (my estimation) of new questions without any research and so many of them are trivial but not very interesting to answer. I blame the laziness of people for the high amount of low quality questions but I'm not sure who to blame for the absence of high quality questions. Often enough I find answers to the problems I encounter already and don't need to ask at all.
Jun 21, 2021 at 16:52 comment added Travis J Sorry you feel that way. From my perspective, over enforcement is what has dropped the answer to question ratio, as questions which would generally have more than 1 answer are now discouraged through interpretation. The semantic focus is ridiculously skewed in the wrong direction, and as a result, questions which users enjoy are no longer as common. If everyone in tech had to suddenly stop asking people "here is a my situation, how would you approach that?" then nothing would get done, which is exactly what has happened here. If anything, zeal is to blame for this more than new users or Prosus
Jun 20, 2021 at 17:48 comment added NoDataDumpNoContribution "Just focus on creating good content..." I wish it would be possible. The number or newly registered users and questions went up since the beginning of 2020, but the ratio of answers to question is barely 1:1 now and long time users are never to be seen again. Going through the new questions on the homepage mostly bad content is served. I don't want to waste my time searching for something answerable there. The only valuable activity to me left is improving existing content by editing. That's still fun. If anything I will work on building a non-profit alternative with all the valuable content.
Jun 17, 2021 at 18:11 history answered Travis J CC BY-SA 4.0