Skip to main content

Timeline for Stack Overflow Jobs pricing

Current License: CC BY-SA 3.0

15 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Oct 16, 2018 at 14:18 comment added Aaron Breckenridge These prices are crazy. I've seen the same company's job listings for months on SO, so I figured posting on SO must be cheap since they're so ineffective at filling positions (presumably the ad would be taken down once filled). Now I know...
Oct 11, 2018 at 8:56 comment added poukill Two years ago I posted a job for my company on SO. The prices were public and reasonable (I paid 1200€ for premium access for 6 months). Now things are different. It seems SO have started to get hungry, the last proposal I had was 5700€ for basic offer for 12 months. Wow.
May 25, 2018 at 0:05 comment added csmith @bluescrubbie - being quoted thousands of dollars to put a basic listing on a web page is just crazy!!
May 23, 2018 at 13:19 comment added GrandMasterFlush Hmm. Let's see. Have to speak to a salesdroid to get a price or use a site where they have the price up front like SO used to have...
Dec 14, 2017 at 2:37 comment added Pkmmte I'm surprised Stack Overflow doesn't start requiring people to call them in order to display question answers. Maybe they will in the future at this rate...
Nov 26, 2017 at 11:45 comment added alvinc Yea it's a definite no when a service doesn't even list a from price. I don't want to get chased by pushy sales people because I just wanted a rough idea of the price of a service.
Oct 31, 2017 at 21:59 comment added bluescrubbie I was just quoted this. They only let you post by the year, and they're super-opaque about it: Choose Level of Exposure - (a) Lowest = $3,690 - Gearing active candidates (b) Mid = $4,815 - Gearing passive candidates (c) Highest = $5,940 - Gearing active + passive candidates For Bay Area, my recommendation is (b) or (c) due to the aggressive competition there, but your choice completely. I will send the link over as soon as you let me know which option.
Aug 25, 2017 at 21:26 comment added rtf @Liam Hey look that's exactly how I ended up here! Now I have to decide if I want to potentially overstep my bounds and contact sales myself or try to get HR to wade through the site. I don't like either option.
Jul 14, 2017 at 3:05 comment added Warren Dew I upvoted this answer, but it would be even more useful if it pointed out that the link also contains prices for sending things to Mars. Literally.
Jul 11, 2017 at 17:59 comment added Jeffrey Bosboom Amusingly, if you're considering working for Stack Overflow, you can calculate how much they'll pay you.
Jul 11, 2017 at 15:46 history rollback Heinzi
Rollback to Revision 1
Jul 11, 2017 at 15:42 comment added Liam I've been considering trying to push my company to advertising a job on SO. I'd be hard pressed with this policy though, "how much does it cost?" "I've no idea you need to ring the sales people", "we'll prob just use the recruitment consultants we normally use"
Jul 11, 2017 at 15:41 history edited Dónal CC BY-SA 3.0
Removed unsuccessful attempt at humour
Jul 11, 2017 at 14:08 comment added Yakk - Adam Nevraumont This answer would be improved by including the current cost for a geosynchronous orbit transfer, which is slightly over 10$ per g. (links should be supplimentary, not core to the meaning; and I think it is clear that the exact price that spacex charges at this exact moment is core to this answer)
Jul 11, 2017 at 8:23 history answered AakashM CC BY-SA 3.0