Skip to main content
added 4 characters in body
Source Link
ouflak
  • 2.5k
  • 8
  • 28
  • 30

My biggest concern is that StackOverflow is going to become a job search site. My last company actually blocked usersemployees from visiting LinkedIn. Their reasoning was quite simply that there is only one reason that people visit that site. I'd hate to see StackOverflow start getting blocked by companies, especially in the tech industry, just because, "We know that ~40% of developers who sign up are interested in hearing about job opportunities" - a statement I find dubious. If true, then StackOverflow is now already waaaay different from the StackOverflow I signed up to.

My biggest concern is that StackOverflow is going to become a job search site. My last company actually blocked users from visiting LinkedIn. Their reasoning was quite simply that there is only one reason that people visit that site. I'd hate to see StackOverflow start getting blocked by companies, especially in the tech industry, just because, "We know that ~40% of developers who sign up are interested in hearing about job opportunities" - a statement I find dubious. If true, then StackOverflow is now already waaaay different from the StackOverflow I signed up to.

My biggest concern is that StackOverflow is going to become a job search site. My last company actually blocked employees from visiting LinkedIn. Their reasoning was quite simply that there is only one reason that people visit that site. I'd hate to see StackOverflow start getting blocked by companies, especially in the tech industry, just because, "We know that ~40% of developers who sign up are interested in hearing about job opportunities" - a statement I find dubious. If true, then StackOverflow is now already waaaay different from the StackOverflow I signed up to.

Source Link
ouflak
  • 2.5k
  • 8
  • 28
  • 30

My biggest concern is that StackOverflow is going to become a job search site. My last company actually blocked users from visiting LinkedIn. Their reasoning was quite simply that there is only one reason that people visit that site. I'd hate to see StackOverflow start getting blocked by companies, especially in the tech industry, just because, "We know that ~40% of developers who sign up are interested in hearing about job opportunities" - a statement I find dubious. If true, then StackOverflow is now already waaaay different from the StackOverflow I signed up to.