Skip to main content
replaced http://drupal.stackexchange.com/ with https://drupal.stackexchange.com/
Source Link

Coming at this with the perspective of looking for new team members, I really like the idea. My gut feeling is that it's going to give me a better impression of the person than a traditional CV/resume does.

Echoing concerns from some of the comments, however, as a developer I want to reuse my existing content from elsewhere in the Stack Exchange universe, so I'd like to see the story and a combination of additional information and curated stuff from elsewhere on Stack Exchange (including from my jobs profile). And why limit it to just Stack Overflow? My questions and answers on Home Improvement can give insight into how I approach problem solving, while other sites like Ask Different, Drupal AnswersDrupal Answers, etc. are more directly related to coding. I don't want to have to duplicate information because maintaining it becomes a nightmare. Just look at any online discussion of commenting code for an illustration of the issues that can come up.

Coming at this with the perspective of looking for new team members, I really like the idea. My gut feeling is that it's going to give me a better impression of the person than a traditional CV/resume does.

Echoing concerns from some of the comments, however, as a developer I want to reuse my existing content from elsewhere in the Stack Exchange universe, so I'd like to see the story and a combination of additional information and curated stuff from elsewhere on Stack Exchange (including from my jobs profile). And why limit it to just Stack Overflow? My questions and answers on Home Improvement can give insight into how I approach problem solving, while other sites like Ask Different, Drupal Answers, etc. are more directly related to coding. I don't want to have to duplicate information because maintaining it becomes a nightmare. Just look at any online discussion of commenting code for an illustration of the issues that can come up.

Coming at this with the perspective of looking for new team members, I really like the idea. My gut feeling is that it's going to give me a better impression of the person than a traditional CV/resume does.

Echoing concerns from some of the comments, however, as a developer I want to reuse my existing content from elsewhere in the Stack Exchange universe, so I'd like to see the story and a combination of additional information and curated stuff from elsewhere on Stack Exchange (including from my jobs profile). And why limit it to just Stack Overflow? My questions and answers on Home Improvement can give insight into how I approach problem solving, while other sites like Ask Different, Drupal Answers, etc. are more directly related to coding. I don't want to have to duplicate information because maintaining it becomes a nightmare. Just look at any online discussion of commenting code for an illustration of the issues that can come up.

replaced http://apple.stackexchange.com/ with https://apple.stackexchange.com/
Source Link

Coming at this with the perspective of looking for new team members, I really like the idea. My gut feeling is that it's going to give me a better impression of the person than a traditional CV/resume does.

Echoing concerns from some of the comments, however, as a developer I want to reuse my existing content from elsewhere in the Stack Exchange universe, so I'd like to see the story and a combination of additional information and curated stuff from elsewhere on Stack Exchange (including from my jobs profile). And why limit it to just Stack Overflow? My questions and answers on Home Improvement can give insight into how I approach problem solving, while other sites like Ask DifferentAsk Different, Drupal Answers, etc. are more directly related to coding. I don't want to have to duplicate information because maintaining it becomes a nightmare. Just look at any online discussion of commenting code for an illustration of the issues that can come up.

Coming at this with the perspective of looking for new team members, I really like the idea. My gut feeling is that it's going to give me a better impression of the person than a traditional CV/resume does.

Echoing concerns from some of the comments, however, as a developer I want to reuse my existing content from elsewhere in the Stack Exchange universe, so I'd like to see the story and a combination of additional information and curated stuff from elsewhere on Stack Exchange (including from my jobs profile). And why limit it to just Stack Overflow? My questions and answers on Home Improvement can give insight into how I approach problem solving, while other sites like Ask Different, Drupal Answers, etc. are more directly related to coding. I don't want to have to duplicate information because maintaining it becomes a nightmare. Just look at any online discussion of commenting code for an illustration of the issues that can come up.

Coming at this with the perspective of looking for new team members, I really like the idea. My gut feeling is that it's going to give me a better impression of the person than a traditional CV/resume does.

Echoing concerns from some of the comments, however, as a developer I want to reuse my existing content from elsewhere in the Stack Exchange universe, so I'd like to see the story and a combination of additional information and curated stuff from elsewhere on Stack Exchange (including from my jobs profile). And why limit it to just Stack Overflow? My questions and answers on Home Improvement can give insight into how I approach problem solving, while other sites like Ask Different, Drupal Answers, etc. are more directly related to coding. I don't want to have to duplicate information because maintaining it becomes a nightmare. Just look at any online discussion of commenting code for an illustration of the issues that can come up.

Correcting a very minor typo in the 3rd word due to a request in the comments.
Source Link

Coming at thethis with the perspective of looking for new team members, I really like the idea. My gut feeling is that it's going to give me a better impression of the person than a traditional CV/resume does.

Echoing concerns from some of the comments, however, as a developer I want to reuse my existing content from elsewhere in the Stack Exchange universe, so I'd like to see the story and a combination of additional information and curated stuff from elsewhere on Stack Exchange (including from my jobs profile). And why limit it to just Stack Overflow? My questions and answers on Home Improvement can give insight into how I approach problem solving, while other sites like Ask Different, Drupal Answers, etc. are more directly related to coding. I don't want to have to duplicate information because maintaining it becomes a nightmare. Just look at any online discussion of commenting code for an illustration of the issues that can come up.

Coming at the with the perspective of looking for new team members, I really like the idea. My gut feeling is that it's going to give me a better impression of the person than a traditional CV/resume does.

Echoing concerns from some of the comments, however, as a developer I want to reuse my existing content from elsewhere in the Stack Exchange universe, so I'd like to see the story and a combination of additional information and curated stuff from elsewhere on Stack Exchange (including from my jobs profile). And why limit it to just Stack Overflow? My questions and answers on Home Improvement can give insight into how I approach problem solving, while other sites like Ask Different, Drupal Answers, etc. are more directly related to coding. I don't want to have to duplicate information because maintaining it becomes a nightmare. Just look at any online discussion of commenting code for an illustration of the issues that can come up.

Coming at this with the perspective of looking for new team members, I really like the idea. My gut feeling is that it's going to give me a better impression of the person than a traditional CV/resume does.

Echoing concerns from some of the comments, however, as a developer I want to reuse my existing content from elsewhere in the Stack Exchange universe, so I'd like to see the story and a combination of additional information and curated stuff from elsewhere on Stack Exchange (including from my jobs profile). And why limit it to just Stack Overflow? My questions and answers on Home Improvement can give insight into how I approach problem solving, while other sites like Ask Different, Drupal Answers, etc. are more directly related to coding. I don't want to have to duplicate information because maintaining it becomes a nightmare. Just look at any online discussion of commenting code for an illustration of the issues that can come up.

Copy edited. Interpreted "site OS X" as meaning "site Ask Different". Used the official names of sites - see section "Proper Use of the Stack Exchange Name" in http://stackoverflow.com/legal/trademark-guidance (the last section).
Source Link
Peter Mortensen
  • 31.3k
  • 4
  • 22
  • 14
Loading
Source Link
Loading