Skip to main content
deleted 2 characters in body
Source Link
Wai Ha Lee
  • 2.1k
  • 13
  • 26

I believe it is not good practice (although have been guilty of it myself). What happens if the link ceases to existsexist? The answer becomes worthless. I would prefer to paste the main gist of the answer into the answer so if the link ever goes down for whatever reason then the answer is still valid.

A large majority of my answers involve providing demo'sdemos of code via a live pastebin, however if these external sites go down, what is the point? I have pushed for a Stack Overflow pastebin to minimise this risk, but so far it has fallen on deaf ears.

I believe it is not good practice (although have been guilty of it myself). What happens if the link ceases to exists? The answer becomes worthless. I would prefer to paste the main gist of the answer into the answer so if the link ever goes down for whatever reason then the answer is still valid.

A large majority of my answers involve providing demo's of code via a live pastebin, however if these external sites go down, what is the point? I have pushed for a Stack Overflow pastebin to minimise this risk, but so far it has fallen on deaf ears.

I believe it is not good practice (although have been guilty of it myself). What happens if the link ceases to exist? The answer becomes worthless. I would prefer to paste the main gist of the answer into the answer so if the link ever goes down for whatever reason then the answer is still valid.

A large majority of my answers involve providing demos of code via a live pastebin, however if these external sites go down, what is the point? I have pushed for a Stack Overflow pastebin to minimise this risk, but so far it has fallen on deaf ears.

Used the official name of Stack Overflow - see section "Proper Use of the Stack Exchange Name" in http://stackoverflow.com/legal/trademark-guidance (the last section), etc.
Source Link

I believe it is not good practice (although have been guilty of it myself). What happens if the link ceases to exists? The answer becomes worthless. I would prefer to paste the main gist of the answer into the answer so if the link ever goes down for whatever reason then the answer is still valid. 

A large majority of my answers involve providing demo's of code via a live pastebin, however if these external sites go down, what is the point? I have pushed for a stackoverflowStack Overflow pastebin to minimise this risk, but so far it has fallen on deaf ears.

I believe it is not good practice (although have been guilty of it myself). What happens if the link ceases to exists? The answer becomes worthless. I would prefer to paste the main gist of the answer into the answer so if the link ever goes down for whatever reason then the answer is still valid. A large majority of my answers involve providing demo's of code via a live pastebin, however if these external sites go down what is the point? I have pushed for a stackoverflow pastebin to minimise this risk but so far it has fallen on deaf ears.

I believe it is not good practice (although have been guilty of it myself). What happens if the link ceases to exists? The answer becomes worthless. I would prefer to paste the main gist of the answer into the answer so if the link ever goes down for whatever reason then the answer is still valid. 

A large majority of my answers involve providing demo's of code via a live pastebin, however if these external sites go down, what is the point? I have pushed for a Stack Overflow pastebin to minimise this risk, but so far it has fallen on deaf ears.

Post Made Community Wiki by Shog9
corrected spelling
Source Link
ChrisF Mod
  • 100.5k
  • 32
  • 257
  • 471

I believe it is not good practisepractice (although have been guilty of it myself). What happens if the link ceases to exists? The answer becomes worthless. I would prefer to paste the main gist of the answer into the answer so if the link ever goes down for whatever reason then the answer is still valid. A large majority of my answers involve providing demo's of code via a live pastebin, however if these external sites go down what is the point? I have pushed for a stackoverflow pastebin to minimise this risk but so far it has fallen on deaf ears.

I believe it is not good practise (although have been guilty of it myself). What happens if the link ceases to exists? The answer becomes worthless. I would prefer to paste the main gist of the answer into the answer so if the link ever goes down for whatever reason then the answer is still valid. A large majority of my answers involve providing demo's of code via a live pastebin, however if these external sites go down what is the point? I have pushed for a stackoverflow pastebin to minimise this risk but so far it has fallen on deaf ears.

I believe it is not good practice (although have been guilty of it myself). What happens if the link ceases to exists? The answer becomes worthless. I would prefer to paste the main gist of the answer into the answer so if the link ever goes down for whatever reason then the answer is still valid. A large majority of my answers involve providing demo's of code via a live pastebin, however if these external sites go down what is the point? I have pushed for a stackoverflow pastebin to minimise this risk but so far it has fallen on deaf ears.

Source Link
redsquare
  • 1.7k
  • 10
  • 15
Loading