Skip to main content
added 1 character in body
Source Link
bobble
  • 8.3k
  • 4
  • 21
  • 62

I have often wondered at the practice on Stack Overflow, Server Fault, and the other sites where someone will ask a question and an answer will come in that says Look here: http://link elsewhere"Look here: https://link elsewhere". Rarely will the link have exactly the answer necessary -- often it's an entire article -- yet these answers get voted up.

Why is that, exactly? I realize this is subjective, but my own thoughts are that one should try and give the answer (even if the answer is 'no, it can't be done' or 'no, I don't think it can be done' -- very different answers) and then if you have a link that explains it, go ahead and post it within the answer.

What does the community think about this?

For more information, see "How do I write a good answer?""How do I write a good answer?" in the Help CenterHelp Center.

Return to FAQ index

I have often wondered at the practice on Stack Overflow, Server Fault, and the other sites where someone will ask a question and an answer will come in that says Look here: http://link elsewhere. Rarely will the link have exactly the answer necessary -- often it's an entire article -- yet these answers get voted up.

Why is that, exactly? I realize this is subjective, but my own thoughts are that one should try and give the answer (even if the answer is 'no, it can't be done' or 'no, I don't think it can be done' -- very different answers) and then if you have a link that explains it, go ahead and post it within the answer.

What does the community think about this?

For more information, see "How do I write a good answer?" in the Help Center.

Return to FAQ index

I have often wondered at the practice on Stack Overflow, Server Fault, and the other sites where someone will ask a question and an answer will come in that says "Look here: https://link elsewhere". Rarely will the link have exactly the answer necessary -- often it's an entire article -- yet these answers get voted up.

Why is that, exactly? I realize this is subjective, but my own thoughts are that one should try and give the answer (even if the answer is 'no, it can't be done' or 'no, I don't think it can be done' -- very different answers) and then if you have a link that explains it, go ahead and post it within the answer.

What does the community think about this?

For more information, see "How do I write a good answer?" in the Help Center.

Return to FAQ index

Question Protected by CommunityBot
replaced http://meta.stackoverflow.com/ with https://meta.stackoverflow.com/
Source Link

I have often wondered at the practice on Stack Overflow, Server Fault, and the other sites where someone will ask a question and an answer will come in that says Look here: http://link elsewhere. Rarely will the link have exactly the answer necessary -- often it's an entire article -- yet these answers get voted up.

Why is that, exactly? I realize this is subjective, but my own thoughts are that one should try and give the answer (even if the answer is 'no, it can't be done' or 'no, I don't think it can be done' -- very different answers) and then if you have a link that explains it, go ahead and post it within the answer.

What does the community think about this?

For more information, see "How do I write a good answer?""How do I write a good answer?" in the Help CenterHelp Center.

Return to FAQ index

I have often wondered at the practice on Stack Overflow, Server Fault, and the other sites where someone will ask a question and an answer will come in that says Look here: http://link elsewhere. Rarely will the link have exactly the answer necessary -- often it's an entire article -- yet these answers get voted up.

Why is that, exactly? I realize this is subjective, but my own thoughts are that one should try and give the answer (even if the answer is 'no, it can't be done' or 'no, I don't think it can be done' -- very different answers) and then if you have a link that explains it, go ahead and post it within the answer.

What does the community think about this?

For more information, see "How do I write a good answer?" in the Help Center.

Return to FAQ index

I have often wondered at the practice on Stack Overflow, Server Fault, and the other sites where someone will ask a question and an answer will come in that says Look here: http://link elsewhere. Rarely will the link have exactly the answer necessary -- often it's an entire article -- yet these answers get voted up.

Why is that, exactly? I realize this is subjective, but my own thoughts are that one should try and give the answer (even if the answer is 'no, it can't be done' or 'no, I don't think it can be done' -- very different answers) and then if you have a link that explains it, go ahead and post it within the answer.

What does the community think about this?

For more information, see "How do I write a good answer?" in the Help Center.

Return to FAQ index

Post Reopened by user102937
Post Closed as "Duplicate" by gnat, Martijn Pieters discussion
Expanded.
Source Link

I have often wondered at the practice on SOStack Overflow, SFServer Fault, and the other sites where someone will ask a question and an answer will come in that says Look here: http://link elsewhere. Rarely will the link have exactly the answer necessary -- often it's an entire article -- yet these answers get voted up.

Why is that, exactly? I realize this is subjective, but my own thoughts are that one should try and give the answer (even if the answer is 'no, it can't be done' or 'no, I don't think it can be done' -- very different answers) and then if you have a link that explains it, go ahead and post it within the answer.

What does the community think about this?

For more information, see "How do I write a good answer?" in the Help Center.

Return to FAQ index

I have often wondered at the practice on SO, SF, and the other sites where someone will ask a question and an answer will come in that says Look here: http://link elsewhere. Rarely will the link have exactly the answer necessary -- often it's an entire article -- yet these answers get voted up.

Why is that, exactly? I realize this is subjective, but my own thoughts are that one should try and give the answer (even if the answer is 'no, it can't be done' or 'no, I don't think it can be done' -- very different answers) and then if you have a link that explains it, go ahead and post it within the answer.

What does the community think about this?

For more information, see "How do I write a good answer?" in the Help Center.

Return to FAQ index

I have often wondered at the practice on Stack Overflow, Server Fault, and the other sites where someone will ask a question and an answer will come in that says Look here: http://link elsewhere. Rarely will the link have exactly the answer necessary -- often it's an entire article -- yet these answers get voted up.

Why is that, exactly? I realize this is subjective, but my own thoughts are that one should try and give the answer (even if the answer is 'no, it can't be done' or 'no, I don't think it can be done' -- very different answers) and then if you have a link that explains it, go ahead and post it within the answer.

What does the community think about this?

For more information, see "How do I write a good answer?" in the Help Center.

Return to FAQ index

included link to the help center
Source Link
Laura
  • 24.2k
  • 4
  • 78
  • 98
Loading
Post Made Community Wiki by Shog9
added 38 characters in body; edited tags
Source Link
user102937
user102937
Loading
edited tags
Link
gnat
  • 11.2k
  • 26
  • 149
  • 328
Loading
Removed link to make Community happy.
Source Link
animuson StaffMod
  • 189.3k
  • 38
  • 578
  • 849
Loading
edited tags
Link
user1228
user1228
Loading
tags
Source Link
Brad Mace
  • 14.3k
  • 8
  • 49
  • 73
Loading
Title change to better reflect the subject of the question
Link
romandas
  • 2.4k
  • 3
  • 15
  • 8
Loading
Source Link
romandas
  • 2.4k
  • 3
  • 15
  • 8
Loading