Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

8
  • 9
    +1. The problem here is that the list really doesn't cover the common requirements. Virtually all the questions want to I vote to close as Off Topic I have to be leave them as just simply Off Topic, without a migration option because the appropriate site to move them to is not in the list of options.
    – Spudley
    Commented Apr 27, 2013 at 16:52
  • Hi @Spudley, now that I've been around a little longer, I agree with Robert Harvey's point. I don't participate on Wordpress SE, so I don't really know what their community requires in good Q&A. Additionally, most questions that are closed as off-topic most likely aren't that great to begin with, so we'd likely be migrating garbage. However, in the rare occasion that there's a really outstanding but off-topic question, flag it for mod attention. They're usually happy to move stuff that is of good quality. :)
    – jmort253
    Commented Apr 27, 2013 at 17:04
  • About the garbage, just hang around on MSO for awhile and look for a user to accidentally post a programming question on meta; it happens several times a day. You'll see exactly what I mean. Most of those posts are garbage questions, so they just get closed and deleted.
    – jmort253
    Commented Apr 27, 2013 at 17:05
  • 1
    Hmm, yes agreed. But your comment gives me a thought: Maybe the list of migration targets should be tailored to include sites that the user is active in (ie the user making the close request). That way, it could still be limited to a short list, but would be sites that I'm familiar with, so I would know more about whether they're suited to migration (the current list only has one that I know anything about). It would also increase the hit rate, because I'm more likely to be reading questions that are in my field of interest.
    – Spudley
    Commented Apr 27, 2013 at 17:09
  • 3
    @Spudley - That's a really great idea! For instance, if you have at least X reputation on the site, it could appear in the migration path. You should post that as a feature request.
    – jmort253
    Commented Apr 27, 2013 at 17:10
  • I think I will suggest it.... :-)
    – Spudley
    Commented Apr 27, 2013 at 17:33
  • I agree with the idea that you can recommend migration to a site where have enough reputation. Commented Oct 25, 2013 at 19:38
  • 1
    i still wish codereview.stackexchange.com would be in there.. Commented Sep 6, 2018 at 18:22