Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

16
  • 1
    generally those two people are the owner of the underlying post you are commenting on (already happens), and one other @person Commented Apr 24, 2011 at 21:09
  • 33
    @Jeff there are cases where you need to notify a large number of people - and a part of them simply won't be notified, with the system giving no feedback about this. It's unexpected and counter-intuitive, and I don't understand why this is done this way.
    – Pekka
    Commented Apr 24, 2011 at 21:11
  • 1
    there's no valid case for "I need to notify a large number of people" -- at least not one I will support by writing software for it. Commented Apr 24, 2011 at 21:13
  • 19
    @Jeff there are valid cases, for example when a question deserves to be reopened again upon being edited after a long discussion.
    – Pekka
    Commented Apr 24, 2011 at 21:14
  • 3
    @Jeff: people who really want to notify more than one person will then create one comment for each person he/she wants to notify. At least allowing more than one notification would prevent the extra moderation needed due to a flood of comment.
    – Eldros
    Commented Sep 22, 2011 at 12:40
  • 5
    @Jeff Here's a case where it was necessary: hermeneutics.stackexchange.com/questions/639/… Two people commented on my post asking for enhancements. I had to make two comments to notify them both.
    – user168625
    Commented Nov 22, 2011 at 19:57
  • @justin no, you didn't "have" to do that. If these users are interested, they can follow up themselves. Commented Jan 12, 2012 at 7:31
  • 36
    @Jeff I can tell you that I've missed more interesting stuff by not being notified by the system than I've been annoyed by the stuff I was notified about. You can still ignore notifications when you see them. But I can live with the current behaviour of the system clearly telling you that it's not possible to @ more than one person - at least this way, there are no misunderstandings.
    – Pekka
    Commented Jan 12, 2012 at 8:03
  • 4
    @JeffAtwood This question is a good example of where I needed to do this. I wanted to ask both commenters how the web.xml change worked out for them.
    – theblang
    Commented Apr 9, 2013 at 16:10
  • 7
    It actually happens often, that I need to notify 2 people! Several times per day! Like in this question.
    – Tomas
    Commented Jun 30, 2013 at 7:38
  • 2
    It happens very often to me in case when 2 people are commenting on my answer.
    – Tomas
    Commented Jun 30, 2013 at 16:30
  • 1
    .. and in this question I needed to notify all the answerers that something important changed in my question!
    – Tomas
    Commented Aug 7, 2013 at 14:58
  • @Jeff, yet another case where I had to submit the same comment twice to notify all the people involved.. But also see the above comments for even more relevant cases.
    – Tomas
    Commented Oct 31, 2013 at 9:51
  • 7
    @JeffAtwood By that logic, why have notifications in the first place? Surely a user can just follow up themselves on any questions/answers in which they're interested? Commented May 12, 2015 at 12:27
  • 2
    I would honestly be fine with being able to "@" two non-owners per comment. I haven't come across a situation where more than that was necessary. But it seems clear that only allowing one is a nuisance far too often, and is ultimately inhibiting the quality of discourse on SO. Commented Nov 17, 2015 at 21:54