Skip to main content
replaced http://meta.stackexchange.com/ with https://meta.stackexchange.com/
Source Link

Of course, I know the question is not about this specific example. But while things are not changed, some thoughts that might help as a workaround.

@Sarfraz, @balpha just told you they ...

In this specific example, I doubt @balpha was meant to be a reply to balpha. Hence, I doubt the commenter expected balpha to be notified.

And Sarfraz would have been notified anyhow, as it was his question that was commented on. I also sometimes include the author of the question or answer I comment to (again: this is not required for any notification), just to indicate to whom the comment is addressed. But that does not need the @-syntax. So, if balpha should have been notified as well, it could have been solved using:

Sarfraz, @balpha just told you they ...

or (ugly):

@balpha, @Sarfraz: balpha just told Sarfraz they ...


(More details on how the matching works in [How do comment replies work?][1])

Of course, I know the question is not about this specific example. But while things are not changed, some thoughts that might help as a workaround.

@Sarfraz, @balpha just told you they ...

In this specific example, I doubt @balpha was meant to be a reply to balpha. Hence, I doubt the commenter expected balpha to be notified.

And Sarfraz would have been notified anyhow, as it was his question that was commented on. I also sometimes include the author of the question or answer I comment to (again: this is not required for any notification), just to indicate to whom the comment is addressed. But that does not need the @-syntax. So, if balpha should have been notified as well, it could have been solved using:

Sarfraz, @balpha just told you they ...

or (ugly):

@balpha, @Sarfraz: balpha just told Sarfraz they ...


(More details on how the matching works in [How do comment replies work?][1])

Of course, I know the question is not about this specific example. But while things are not changed, some thoughts that might help as a workaround.

@Sarfraz, @balpha just told you they ...

In this specific example, I doubt @balpha was meant to be a reply to balpha. Hence, I doubt the commenter expected balpha to be notified.

And Sarfraz would have been notified anyhow, as it was his question that was commented on. I also sometimes include the author of the question or answer I comment to (again: this is not required for any notification), just to indicate to whom the comment is addressed. But that does not need the @-syntax. So, if balpha should have been notified as well, it could have been solved using:

Sarfraz, @balpha just told you they ...

or (ugly):

@balpha, @Sarfraz: balpha just told Sarfraz they ...


(More details on how the matching works in [How do comment replies work?][1])
Fixup of bad MSO links to MSE links migration
Source Link

Of course, I know the question is not about this specific example. But while things are not changed, some thoughts that might help as a workaround.

  

@Sarfraz, @balpha just told you they ...

In this specific example, I doubt @balpha was meant to be a reply to balpha. Hence, I doubt the commenter expected balpha to be notified.

And Sarfraz would have been notified anyhow, as it was his question that was commented on. I also sometimes include the author of the question or answer I comment to (again: this is not required for any notification), just to indicate to whom the comment is addressed. But that does not need the @-syntax. So, if balpha should have been notified as well, it could have been solved using:

  

Sarfraz, @balpha just told you they ...

or (ugly):

  

@balpha, @Sarfraz: balpha just told Sarfraz they ...


(More details on how the matching works in How do comment replies work?)

 
(More details on how the matching works in [How do comment replies work?][1])

Of course, I know the question is not about this specific example. But while things are not changed, some thoughts that might help as a workaround.

 

@Sarfraz, @balpha just told you they ...

In this specific example, I doubt @balpha was meant to be a reply to balpha. Hence, I doubt the commenter expected balpha to be notified.

And Sarfraz would have been notified anyhow, as it was his question that was commented on. I also sometimes include the author of the question or answer I comment to (again: this is not required for any notification), just to indicate to whom the comment is addressed. But that does not need the @-syntax. So, if balpha should have been notified as well, it could have been solved using:

 

Sarfraz, @balpha just told you they ...

or (ugly):

 

@balpha, @Sarfraz: balpha just told Sarfraz they ...


(More details on how the matching works in How do comment replies work?)

Of course, I know the question is not about this specific example. But while things are not changed, some thoughts that might help as a workaround.

 

@Sarfraz, @balpha just told you they ...

In this specific example, I doubt @balpha was meant to be a reply to balpha. Hence, I doubt the commenter expected balpha to be notified.

And Sarfraz would have been notified anyhow, as it was his question that was commented on. I also sometimes include the author of the question or answer I comment to (again: this is not required for any notification), just to indicate to whom the comment is addressed. But that does not need the @-syntax. So, if balpha should have been notified as well, it could have been solved using:

 

Sarfraz, @balpha just told you they ...

or (ugly):

 

@balpha, @Sarfraz: balpha just told Sarfraz they ...

 
(More details on how the matching works in [How do comment replies work?][1])
Migration of MSO links to MSE links
Source Link

Of course, I know the question is not about this specific example. But while things are not changed, some thoughts that might help as a workaround.

  

@Sarfraz, @balpha just told you they ...

In this specific example, I doubt @balpha was meant to be a reply to balpha. Hence, I doubt the commenter expected balpha to be notified.

And Sarfraz would have been notified anyhow, as it was his question that was commented on. I also sometimes include the author of the question or answer I comment to (again: this is not required for any notification), just to indicate to whom the comment is addressed. But that does not need the @-syntax. So, if balpha should have been notified as well, it could have been solved using:

  

Sarfraz, @balpha just told you they ...

or (ugly):

  

@balpha, @Sarfraz: balpha just told Sarfraz they ...


 


(More details on how the matching works in How do comment replies work?)

(More details on how the matching works in [How do comment replies work?][1])

Of course, I know the question is not about this specific example. But while things are not changed, some thoughts that might help as a workaround.

 

@Sarfraz, @balpha just told you they ...

In this specific example, I doubt @balpha was meant to be a reply to balpha. Hence, I doubt the commenter expected balpha to be notified.

And Sarfraz would have been notified anyhow, as it was his question that was commented on. I also sometimes include the author of the question or answer I comment to (again: this is not required for any notification), just to indicate to whom the comment is addressed. But that does not need the @-syntax. So, if balpha should have been notified as well, it could have been solved using:

 

Sarfraz, @balpha just told you they ...

or (ugly):

 

@balpha, @Sarfraz: balpha just told Sarfraz they ...


  (More details on how the matching works in [How do comment replies work?][1])

Of course, I know the question is not about this specific example. But while things are not changed, some thoughts that might help as a workaround.

 

@Sarfraz, @balpha just told you they ...

In this specific example, I doubt @balpha was meant to be a reply to balpha. Hence, I doubt the commenter expected balpha to be notified.

And Sarfraz would have been notified anyhow, as it was his question that was commented on. I also sometimes include the author of the question or answer I comment to (again: this is not required for any notification), just to indicate to whom the comment is addressed. But that does not need the @-syntax. So, if balpha should have been notified as well, it could have been solved using:

 

Sarfraz, @balpha just told you they ...

or (ugly):

 

@balpha, @Sarfraz: balpha just told Sarfraz they ...


(More details on how the matching works in How do comment replies work?)

Found a FAQ on the comment replies. Replaced hints with a link.
Source Link
Arjan
  • 28.2k
  • 18
  • 111
  • 176
Loading
Source Link
Arjan
  • 28.2k
  • 18
  • 111
  • 176
Loading