Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

20
  • 9
    @Vinayak Yes, it's experimentally confirmed. As with editors, you do not get autocomplete but ping works.
    – user259867
    Commented Sep 11, 2015 at 22:03
  • 5
    Seems either I misunderstood the paragraph on spaces, either something is broken, because I frequently have a problem with spaces. See here in the comments for example, I tried to notify @Joachim Pileborg, and no link appears in the comment (same here). How do I know if he got notified ?
    – user137902
    Commented Jan 22, 2016 at 8:52
  • 1
    Is there any way to escape an @ ? I might mention a java annotation in a comment and the comment processor tells me I can't send to more than one person. Commented Mar 28, 2016 at 1:33
  • 2
    @MikeJR: "Can I notify more than one person at a time?", seems to imply that a backtick will escape an @. But I haven't confirmed that. Commented May 12, 2016 at 12:16
  • 2
    suppose i want to comment user named David Cuccia so @David Cuccia and @DavidCuccia will both work ? one is with space and other without space ?
    – Shaiju T
    Commented Jul 4, 2016 at 16:35
  • 3
    I see that "downvoter" and "all" are legal usernames. I expect "op" is, also. ;)
    – Wildcard
    Commented Jan 5, 2017 at 21:59
  • 2
    Not clear+succinct enough to make me realize soon enough that \@John Pankowicz is converted to @JonPankowicz Commented Mar 11, 2017 at 7:39
  • 4
    What if a user changes their display name? Does the @ pointer get updated or does it still use the older name?
    – Stevoisiak
    Commented Mar 20, 2017 at 15:33
  • 7
    @StevenVascellaro: The "@ pointer" is not updated when users change their username. I now this because on Web Applications and Stack Overflow there is a user that frequently participates in the tags that I follow and they have changed their name a lot. (I usually use they instead of he/she when I don't know the proper pronoun ).
    – Rubén
    Commented Apr 5, 2017 at 18:55
  • 7
    Can the auto-complete please get fixed? I just tried notifying an editor but since their name didn't show up in the auto-complete, I gave up on it. Commented Aug 22, 2017 at 10:13
  • 2
    @MikeJRamsey56 A java annotation could be formatted as code anyway, so just use that, which, yes, means encasing it in backticks. (@name).
    – Miriam
    Commented Jul 25, 2018 at 13:01
  • 1
    (1) This says that a backtick (`) can allow a second “at” symbol in a comment. Apparently this works even if the backtick isn’t matched (i.e., if the ‘@’ symbol isn’t formatted as code). But does this mean that `@ is never treated as a ping, even if it’s the first ‘@’ in the comment? (2) This lists abc@name as an “example” of a non-ping, without giving a general rule that it is an example of. Is ‘@’ always treated as a non-special, literal text character if it’s preceded by a non-blank? (There’s a comment (above) about \@, but I don’t understand it.)  … (Cont’d) Commented May 30, 2019 at 17:25
  • 2
    (Cont’d) …  (3) This lists *@name* as an “example” of a non-ping.  What about *I hope @name sees this.*?  (4) This lists [@name](URL) as an “example” of a non-ping, but I suspect that [blah blah @name blah blah](URL) works.  (5) I understand that the algorithms for detection of fraud and spam, etc., are secret to make it harder to game them.  But why can’t we get official documentation on how ‘@’ works? Commented May 30, 2019 at 17:34
  • 1
    Dear W: Would you please let me know if you get a notification for this: I believe that @Wildcard is a valued contributor to this site. Commented May 30, 2019 at 17:46
  • 2
    @G-Man, yes, I got a notification.
    – Wildcard
    Commented May 30, 2019 at 18:54