Skip to main content
Introduced abbr. "NN".
Source Link

I believe a permanent ban on MI generated content is necessary to preserve the quality of answers on Stack Exchange.

Perhaps SE should go further. The GPT neural net (NN) trained on data scraped from many sources including Stack Overflow and related sites. As others have noted this happened without explicit permission, attribution or compensation. I didn't consent for them to use everything I ever posted on the internet for this purpose. Perhaps SE should create an opt-in model so that human creators need to give explicit permission to use their contributions for NN training. The default legal position then becomes, "No. You can't use my creativity to train a proprietary, competing tool". Thoughts?

I believe a permanent ban on MI generated content is necessary to preserve the quality of answers on Stack Exchange.

Perhaps SE should go further. The GPT neural net trained on data scraped from many sources including Stack Overflow and related sites. As others have noted this happened without explicit permission, attribution or compensation. I didn't consent for them to use everything I ever posted on the internet for this purpose. Perhaps SE should create an opt-in model so that human creators need to give explicit permission to use their contributions for NN training. The default legal position then becomes, "No. You can't use my creativity to train a proprietary, competing tool". Thoughts?

I believe a permanent ban on MI generated content is necessary to preserve the quality of answers on Stack Exchange.

Perhaps SE should go further. The GPT neural net (NN) trained on data scraped from many sources including Stack Overflow and related sites. As others have noted this happened without explicit permission, attribution or compensation. I didn't consent for them to use everything I ever posted on the internet for this purpose. Perhaps SE should create an opt-in model so that human creators need to give explicit permission to use their contributions for NN training. The default legal position then becomes, "No. You can't use my creativity to train a proprietary, competing tool". Thoughts?

Source Link

I believe a permanent ban on MI generated content is necessary to preserve the quality of answers on Stack Exchange.

Perhaps SE should go further. The GPT neural net trained on data scraped from many sources including Stack Overflow and related sites. As others have noted this happened without explicit permission, attribution or compensation. I didn't consent for them to use everything I ever posted on the internet for this purpose. Perhaps SE should create an opt-in model so that human creators need to give explicit permission to use their contributions for NN training. The default legal position then becomes, "No. You can't use my creativity to train a proprietary, competing tool". Thoughts?