Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

8
  • Would a network-wide ban include chat? Maybe I can't be too critical of it because I've posted AI images to chat, but chat isn't supposed to be serious academic prose like much of the network.
    – Laurel
    Commented Dec 12, 2022 at 18:07
  • 3
    @Laurel I can't see any reason to ban AI generated content in chat. MSE main room, Tavern, already has a lot of AI generated images for several months, and everyone are fine with it. Same can be done with actual messages, within the CoC and ToS of course. Commented Dec 12, 2022 at 18:38
  • @Laurel: I'd defer to those who are more expert on that. If Chat's content is meant to be covered by copyright that could get complex. If it's an objective conversation about it then I don't think I'd care too much, personally.
    – Makoto
    Commented Dec 12, 2022 at 20:13
  • 1
    While I basically agree, there are a lot of exceptions. Besides for Shadow's, there are also e.g. pfps.
    – Adám
    Commented Dec 12, 2022 at 20:33
  • 1
    @Adám: If you're saying that someone should be allowed to use an AI-generated piece of art as their avatar or in their profile, I'm going to firmly disagree with that. No reason to make carve-outs there, after all.
    – Makoto
    Commented Dec 12, 2022 at 20:37
  • 1
    @Makoto It'll be their responsibility to deal with copyright (but that's already the case with pfps). I should be allowed to use "AI" to generate a pfp e.g. based on all the photos and images I created myself.
    – Adám
    Commented Dec 12, 2022 at 20:40
  • @Adám: It's been a minute since I've had to deal with this, but it's not the individual that receives a DMCA complaint, it's the site. They'll delegate all of the appeal process down so that yes, if you own the copyright on all the things then you can deal with it then, but it's not the case that these DMCA complaints are targeted so specifically to the individual.
    – Makoto
    Commented Dec 12, 2022 at 20:47
  • pfps = profile pictures Commented Dec 13, 2022 at 5:52