Skip to main content
deleted 1 character in body
Source Link

Accessibility advisors

Accessibility advisors

There was recently a kerfuffle about using the code block for code-like but not exactly code per se bits.

One concern there was that screen readers are said to choke on these compared to the New Feature: Table Support.

I was frustrated because I could not find anything more than anecdotal and 10+ year old lore about exactly what the accessibility issues were for code blocking for monospace vs for tables, and though about getting some software and trying it out myself.

Then I noticed there is a lot of different screen readers and other accessibility tools out there and I could not get all of them because:

  • some are expensive and I'm poor
  • each takes some time to learn (I have my own neuro-challenges)
  • what matters is the experience of the folks who actually use these!

For the SE ecosystem in general (rather than a per-site basis) how about a recognized group of volunteers with various interests in accessibility get recognized as an important voice and have a central clearinghouse-type function for information and UI review for these issues?

Accessibility advisors

There was recently a kerfuffle about using the code block for code-like but not exactly code per se bits.

One concern there was that screen readers are said to choke on these compared to the New Feature: Table Support.

I was frustrated because I could not find anything more than anecdotal and 10+ year old lore about exactly what the accessibility issues were for code blocking for monospace vs for tables, and though about getting some software and trying it out myself.

Then I noticed there is a lot of different screen readers and other accessibility tools out there and I could not get all of them because:

  • some are expensive and I'm poor
  • each takes some time to learn (I have my own neuro-challenges)
  • what matters is the experience of the folks who actually use these!

For the SE ecosystem in general (rather than a per-site basis) how about a recognized group of volunteers with various interests in accessibility get recognized as an important voice and have a central clearinghouse-type function for information and UI review for these issues?

Accessibility advisors

There was recently a kerfuffle about using the code block for code-like but not exactly code per se bits.

One concern there was that screen readers are said to choke on these compared to the New Feature: Table Support.

I was frustrated because I could not find anything more than anecdotal and 10+ year old lore about exactly what the accessibility issues were for code blocking for monospace vs for tables, and though about getting some software and trying it out myself.

Then I noticed there is a lot of different screen readers and other accessibility tools out there and I could not get all of them because:

  • some are expensive and I'm poor
  • each takes some time to learn (I have my own neuro-challenges)
  • what matters is the experience of the folks who actually use these!

For the SE ecosystem in general (rather than a per-site basis) how about a recognized group of volunteers with various interests in accessibility get recognized as an important voice and have a central clearinghouse-type function for information and UI review for these issues?

Source Link
uhoh
  • 6.4k
  • 15
  • 44

Accessibility advisors

There was recently a kerfuffle about using the code block for code-like but not exactly code per se bits.

One concern there was that screen readers are said to choke on these compared to the New Feature: Table Support.

I was frustrated because I could not find anything more than anecdotal and 10+ year old lore about exactly what the accessibility issues were for code blocking for monospace vs for tables, and though about getting some software and trying it out myself.

Then I noticed there is a lot of different screen readers and other accessibility tools out there and I could not get all of them because:

  • some are expensive and I'm poor
  • each takes some time to learn (I have my own neuro-challenges)
  • what matters is the experience of the folks who actually use these!

For the SE ecosystem in general (rather than a per-site basis) how about a recognized group of volunteers with various interests in accessibility get recognized as an important voice and have a central clearinghouse-type function for information and UI review for these issues?