Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

8
  • Or the site UI could be made more in-your-face about the existance of help pages like "/on-topic" :( (not expressing opposition to your proposal at all. just trying to voice my thoughts on what I think could be a "root-cause"/root-issue). +1ed
    – starball
    Commented Dec 3, 2022 at 3:58
  • 1
    Even if SE was to make the UI improvements now, there is a decade of scattered content that could be better organized. Commented Dec 3, 2022 at 4:26
  • 1
    I upvoted this, because I like the idea of subject matter experts saving good quality posts. But I have serous concerns about how hard it would be to implement. Manual curation of how tags relate to each other across network sites seems too great a challenge. Commented Dec 3, 2022 at 20:43
  • If the solution was simple, Stack Exchange would have solved it already. I am happy to share my design thoughts if this idea gains traction. Commented Dec 3, 2022 at 21:55
  • The pool of users who qualify for this would be in the teens if you require them to have gold/silver badges on both sites, I suspect.
    – TylerH
    Commented Dec 14, 2022 at 15:06
  • I didn't investigate how many users would qualify. Can you recommend another reliable trust metric? This privilege needs a very high bar for evaluating SME status. @TylerH Commented Dec 14, 2022 at 19:47
  • I don't know of a readily available metric, I am just thinking of the number of users I have seen that have gold badges on two different sites, let alone the ones in that group who are interested in site curation.
    – TylerH
    Commented Dec 14, 2022 at 19:58
  • I did mention silver or gold or mod in my answer. There will be "pools of tags" where badges would qualify. Like for WordPress, a user on SO with any one of the many WP-specific tags who also has a silver badge on WordPressDevelopment.SE would be able to participate. Alternatively, a Joomla mod (such as myself) who has a silver badge on DBA.SE (if I actually had one) would be able to participate. If this bar is set too high / is too exclusive, then I am open to changing the qualifications. Commented Dec 14, 2022 at 22:10