Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

7
  • 6
    I'm a bit confused by this post. What are you proposing here that is different than what 2k+ users already do? Commented Dec 1, 2022 at 19:14
  • 2
    @ThomasMarkov I want people clearly marked as editors and I want editors to be judged by how well they edit, not what rep they have. Is that difference enough? Commented Dec 1, 2022 at 23:19
  • The initial rep cap is much lower (I think it's 5 rep or so) to suggest edits to questions and have them approved. 2k is the bar to not have edits approved any longer.
    – TarHalda
    Commented Dec 2, 2022 at 14:49
  • 2
    @TarHalda I know. For this answer I imagine a role for edits without approvement. Editors not edit suggesters. Commented Dec 2, 2022 at 20:53
  • 1
    This is something we should foster of every user, even those that don't have an account.
    – Braiam
    Commented Dec 8, 2022 at 0:16
  • @Braiam It's kind of a basic writing skill but many lack it. An alternative description would also be copy editor. Commented Dec 8, 2022 at 16:51
  • 3
    There's probably a case for this. For example, I have edit privilege on a few sites, and have demonstrated that I'm competent at spelling and grammar (English is my native language). It's frustrating that that competence isn't recognised on the sites where I don't have questions or strong answers but can still help those who don't have good English. I recently had to wait two weeks to get a simple spelling/grammar change approved, resorting to a Meta post to draw attention to the queue. Commented Dec 10, 2022 at 9:43