Skip to main content
13 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Dec 13, 2022 at 18:53 comment added Johannes Kuhn One thing I'd like to see here is tag synonyms managment. Currently mostly done by moderators, as the requirements for tag synonyms are quite steep.
Dec 12, 2022 at 3:42 comment added Drew Reese I'm sure if it was easier to curate content then more people would be more apt to participate, much related in the way I avoid review queues because I don't enjoy verifying I know what I'm doing every 3rd to 5th review with an audit. 🙄 It's outright unbearable. I also don't disagree that you don't want to grease the wheels for those that have absolutely no idea what they are doing though. Isn't earned rep supposed to be a sign that you are a "trusted member"? 🤔 In any case, yours is a suggestion I'd support since it's something I'm genuinely invested in already anyway.
Dec 11, 2022 at 12:56 comment added blackgreen @DrewReese I actually agree that it shouldn't strictly require a new role. However just granting additional privileges based on rep, I'm afraid it won't work well. There's many examples of high-rep users who seem oblivious to SE rules in general, let alone curation. How can one determine who is fit to receive these privileges? In this sense, you can imagine a "role", or whatever they want to call it, as a set of measurable criteria that can objectively identify, and possibly predict, someone who will put these privileges to good use
Dec 4, 2022 at 18:39 comment added Drew Reese Why would this require a new role though? Why can't the moderation tools just be expanded to those that have already been established as Trusted Members? I get it, the assignment is for community members to make suggestions on new roles. I'm not convinced new roles are needed at all. Please don't confuse this with unsupport of the role you suggest, I want to be better able to curate the tags I primarily focus on. I completely support your suggestion, I just don't think creating a role system is the solution.
Dec 3, 2022 at 12:41 comment added blackgreen @DrewReese The issue I run into is that when I do try to curate older content my flags simply age out — this is precisely the use case I try to address. As for the recipients of this "tag curator" role, it has to be people who are already interested in curation. Just like we (usually...) elect as moderators people who are already interested in cleaning up their site. Privileges should be granted to users that would know how to use them and how to not abuse them.
Dec 3, 2022 at 8:38 comment added Drew Reese Why the need to "identify such users" who actively seek older content as opposed just including current bronze/silver/gold badge users currently curating a tag? Surely these users, given improved tools, would be more interested in curating older content. The issue I run into is that when I do try to curate older content my flags simply age out. I track my VTCs and once I've revoted once/twice and it still ages out, I move along.
Dec 1, 2022 at 21:19 comment added Goodies Agree with this one.. tags AND tagging should be better maintained on both WB and SO.. e.g. on SO there are many toolkit-tags, similar names causing ambiguity etc. Searching things is very much easier, when topics are properly tagged (mod could set them)
Nov 29, 2022 at 22:27 history edited blackgreen CC BY-SA 4.0
added 54 characters in body
Nov 29, 2022 at 19:09 history edited blackgreen CC BY-SA 4.0
added 381 characters in body
Nov 29, 2022 at 16:31 history edited blackgreen CC BY-SA 4.0
added 148 characters in body
Nov 29, 2022 at 15:13 history edited blackgreen CC BY-SA 4.0
added 796 characters in body
Nov 29, 2022 at 12:33 history edited blackgreen CC BY-SA 4.0
added 202 characters in body
Nov 29, 2022 at 12:28 history answered blackgreen CC BY-SA 4.0