Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

9
  • 2
    Adding a delete option would certainly be preferred. Having to flag one's own comment seems excessive. Commented Aug 26, 2021 at 16:17
  • @Unconsidered That's what I prefer too but I added that as a fallback in hopes that this doesn't get declined. Note that "No longer needed" flags don't affect your account in any way. Plus those comments are technically not under your name anyway.
    – 41686d6564
    Commented Aug 26, 2021 at 16:23
  • I guess that depends on the perception of "don't affect your account in any way". I don't want to raise my flag-count. So I'm not inclined to flag anything, for any reason. Commented Aug 26, 2021 at 16:31
  • If they were going to track ownership/original author of the comment, then there's no need to add conditional flag weight code; just add said delete option.
    – TylerH
    Commented Aug 26, 2021 at 18:32
  • 27
    Please let me (as a mod) delete these comments!
    – Zanna
    Commented Aug 27, 2021 at 10:01
  • 1
    @Zanna Not even mods can clean them up?
    – 41686d6564
    Commented Aug 27, 2021 at 10:50
  • 11
    Nope! I just get a notification saying the comment will be deleted automatically when the post gets fixed, but of course such comments can be wrongly posted. I think I'd rather not have these comments at all
    – Zanna
    Commented Aug 27, 2021 at 10:52
  • 2
    @Zanna you (as a mod) can now delete these comments Commented Sep 2, 2021 at 21:25
  • 1
    @YaakovEllis hallelujah!!
    – Zanna
    Commented Sep 3, 2021 at 0:59