Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

12
  • 3
    @random: What happens after I cast a reopen vote? As far as I've read, the question enters a review queue, but I've never seen any outcome at all from my casting of reopen votes. As in, no discussion, no notification that the question will stay closed, let alone reopening. Commented Feb 25, 2014 at 5:19
  • You don't get any notification at all if your vote to reopen reopens to question, or it was not able to reopen @dan
    – random
    Commented Feb 25, 2014 at 5:28
  • @random: so 1) I don't get any notifications at all about the progress of the process, and 2) the only notifications I might her are at the discretion of whoever wants to comment on the question? Commented Feb 25, 2014 at 5:34
  • No notifications. And only comments if you've left one/last edited and were @ notified. If you want to, ask for a feature-request. meta.stackexchange.com/questions/3432/… @dan
    – random
    Commented Feb 25, 2014 at 5:39
  • 2
    It is not possible to notify via a comment an individual who voted to close when that individual did not leave a comment on the question.
    – DavidRR
    Commented Feb 4, 2015 at 13:25
  • Thanks for the answer. What about posting on the respective meta SE drawing attention to the edited question? When would that be acceptable? In my case it's sound.stackexchange.com/questions/31627/…
    – qubodup
    Commented Oct 30, 2015 at 3:45
  • say I wrote a very very bad question, and now based on the comments and a semi-answer—I got a good grip on what I actually needed to be ask. Should I edit top to bottom the question ie almost making it a similar but different question or just keep it closed and create a new question?
    – Honey
    Commented May 31, 2016 at 21:16
  • It seems that the tag is reopen-closed rather than reopen-request (maybe this changed since the answer was posted?)
    – prosoitos
    Commented Oct 28, 2018 at 19:28
  • @prosoitos It depends on the site. Meta SU uses reopen-request. Commented Nov 16, 2018 at 0:57
  • Oh, ok. My comment was for SO and I didn't realize that this was not homogeneous
    – prosoitos
    Commented Nov 16, 2018 at 0:59
  • One some ultra specific sites, it's barrely impossible to reach the 3'000 points. This makes it "a niche" privilege to cast such votes.
    – s.k
    Commented Apr 3, 2020 at 7:31
  • Note some stackexchange sites might not use this system. On math.stackexchange my attempt was closed and I was told to instead post an answer to the question math.meta.stackexchange.com/questions/34447/….
    – Kvothe
    Commented Apr 8, 2022 at 15:19