Skip to main content
added 21 characters in body
Source Link
Joel Coehoorn
  • 40.4k
  • 21
  • 111
  • 177

I gotta say... I tried to live with this for twotwo three months now, and I gotta say: I still really miss the older layout.

I understand the problem with spoilers and design on some communities with different background colors, and I appreciate the improved nesting of quotes. I'm also not worried at all for those people abusing block quotes to highlight images; that's not what this is about. But for quoting from the question or documentation as part of an answer, the change has been a real loss for readability of block quotes throughout the big Stack Overflow site.


"When you have people adding things like horizontal lines, extra quote marks, and italics to make the quotes stand out more, it's strong evidence you've made things worse, rather than better."


I especially dislike those work-arounds because some of the formatting options used to accomplish them are supposed to have different semantic meanings in html. In other words, this change has effectively also made things worse for people who rely on assistive technologies.

We don't need to go back to the yellow background, but you should do something to better distinguish block quotes from other text. More indentation, brighter-colored bar, font adjustment, I don't care. What we have now isn't enough.

I gotta say... I tried to live with this for two months now, and I still really miss the older layout.

I understand the problem with spoilers and design on some communities with different background colors, and I appreciate the improved nesting of quotes. I'm also not worried at all for those people abusing block quotes to highlight images; that's not what this is about. But for quoting from the question or documentation as part of an answer, the change has been a real loss for readability of block quotes throughout the big Stack Overflow site.


"When you have people adding things like horizontal lines, extra quote marks, and italics to make the quotes stand out more, it's strong evidence you've made things worse, rather than better."


I especially dislike those work-arounds because some of the formatting options used to accomplish them are supposed to have different semantic meanings in html. In other words, this change has effectively also made things worse for people who rely on assistive technologies.

We don't need to go back to the yellow background, but you should do something to better distinguish block quotes from other text. More indentation, brighter-colored bar, font adjustment, I don't care. What we have now isn't enough.

I tried to live with this for two three months now, and I gotta say: I still really miss the older layout.

I understand the problem with spoilers and design on some communities with different background colors, and I appreciate the improved nesting of quotes. I'm also not worried at all for those people abusing block quotes to highlight images; that's not what this is about. But for quoting from the question or documentation as part of an answer, the change has been a real loss for readability of block quotes throughout the big Stack Overflow site.


"When you have people adding things like horizontal lines, extra quote marks, and italics to make the quotes stand out more, it's strong evidence you've made things worse, rather than better."


I especially dislike those work-arounds because some of the formatting options used to accomplish them are supposed to have different semantic meanings in html. In other words, this change has effectively also made things worse for people who rely on assistive technologies.

We don't need to go back to the yellow background, but you should do something to better distinguish block quotes from other text. More indentation, brighter-colored bar, font adjustment, I don't care. What we have now isn't enough.

added 55 characters in body
Source Link
Joel Coehoorn
  • 40.4k
  • 21
  • 111
  • 177

I gotta say... I tried to live with this for two months now, and I still really miss the older layout.

I understand the problem with spoilers and design on some communities with different background colors, and I appreciate the improved nesting of quotes. I'm also not worried at all for those people abusing blockquotesblock quotes to highlight images; that's not what this is about. But for quoting from the question or documentation as part of an answer, the change has been a real loss for readability of block quotes throughout the big Stack Overflow site.


"When you have people doing stuffadding things like thishorizontal lines, extra quote marks, and italics to make the quotes stand out more, it's strong evidence you've made things worse, rather than better."


I especially dislike those work-arounds because some of the formatting options used to accomplish them are supposed to have different semantic meanings in html. In other words, this change has effectively also made things worse for people who rely on assistive technologies.

We don't need to go back to the yellow background, but you should do something to better distinguish block quotes from other text. More indentation, brighter-colored bar, font adjustment, I don't care. What we have now isn't enough.

I gotta say... I tried to live with this for two months now, and I still really miss the older layout.

I understand the problem with spoilers and design on some communities with different background colors, and I appreciate the improved nesting of quotes. I'm also not worried at all for those people abusing blockquotes to highlight images; that's not what this is about. But for quoting from the question or documentation as part of an answer, the change has been a real loss for readability of block quotes throughout the big Stack Overflow site.


"When you have people doing stuff like this to make the quotes stand out more, it's strong evidence you've made things worse, rather than better."


I especially dislike those work-arounds because the formatting options used to accomplish them are supposed to have different semantic meanings in html. In other words, this change has effectively also made things worse for people who rely on assistive technologies.

We don't need to go back to the yellow background, but you should do something to better distinguish block quotes from other text. More indentation, brighter-colored bar, font adjustment, I don't care. What we have now isn't enough.

I gotta say... I tried to live with this for two months now, and I still really miss the older layout.

I understand the problem with spoilers and design on some communities with different background colors, and I appreciate the improved nesting of quotes. I'm also not worried at all for those people abusing block quotes to highlight images; that's not what this is about. But for quoting from the question or documentation as part of an answer, the change has been a real loss for readability of block quotes throughout the big Stack Overflow site.


"When you have people adding things like horizontal lines, extra quote marks, and italics to make the quotes stand out more, it's strong evidence you've made things worse, rather than better."


I especially dislike those work-arounds because some of the formatting options used to accomplish them are supposed to have different semantic meanings in html. In other words, this change has effectively also made things worse for people who rely on assistive technologies.

We don't need to go back to the yellow background, but you should do something to better distinguish block quotes from other text. More indentation, brighter-colored bar, font adjustment, I don't care. What we have now isn't enough.

added 17 characters in body
Source Link
Joel Coehoorn
  • 40.4k
  • 21
  • 111
  • 177

I gotta say... I tried to live with this for two months now, and I still really miss the older layout.

I understand the problem with spoilers and design on some communities with different background colors, and I appreciate the improved nesting of quotes. I'm also not worried at all for those people abusing blockquotes to highlight images; that's not what this is about. But for quoting from the question or documentation as part of an answer, the change has been a real loss for readability of block quotes throughout the big Stack Overflow site.


"When you have people doing stuff like this to make the quotes stand out more, it's strong evidence you've made things worse, rather than better."


I especially dislike those work-arounds because the formatting options used to accomplish them are supposed to have different semantic meanings in html. In other words, this change has effectively also made things worse for people who rely on assistive technologies.

We don't need to go back to the yellow background, but you should do something to better distinguish block quotes from other text. More indentation, brighter-colored bar, font adjustment, I don't care. What we have now isn't enough.

I gotta say... I tried to live with this for two months now, and I still really miss the older layout.

I understand the problem with spoilers and design on some communities with different background colors, and I appreciate the improved nesting of quotes. I'm also not worried at all for those people abusing blockquotes to highlight images; that's not what this is about. But for quoting from the question or documentation as part of an answer, the change has been a real loss for readability of block quotes throughout the big Stack Overflow site.


"When you have people doing stuff like this to make the quotes stand out more, it's strong evidence you've made things worse, rather than better."


I especially dislike those work-arounds because the formatting options used to accomplish them are supposed to have different semantic meanings in html. In other words, this change has effectively also made things worse for people who rely on assistive technologies.

We don't need to go back to the yellow background, but you should do something to better distinguish block quotes from other text. More indentation, brighter-colored bar, I don't care. What we have now isn't enough.

I gotta say... I tried to live with this for two months now, and I still really miss the older layout.

I understand the problem with spoilers and design on some communities with different background colors, and I appreciate the improved nesting of quotes. I'm also not worried at all for those people abusing blockquotes to highlight images; that's not what this is about. But for quoting from the question or documentation as part of an answer, the change has been a real loss for readability of block quotes throughout the big Stack Overflow site.


"When you have people doing stuff like this to make the quotes stand out more, it's strong evidence you've made things worse, rather than better."


I especially dislike those work-arounds because the formatting options used to accomplish them are supposed to have different semantic meanings in html. In other words, this change has effectively also made things worse for people who rely on assistive technologies.

We don't need to go back to the yellow background, but you should do something to better distinguish block quotes from other text. More indentation, brighter-colored bar, font adjustment, I don't care. What we have now isn't enough.

deleted 5 characters in body
Source Link
Joel Coehoorn
  • 40.4k
  • 21
  • 111
  • 177
Loading
added 16 characters in body
Source Link
Joel Coehoorn
  • 40.4k
  • 21
  • 111
  • 177
Loading
added 4 characters in body
Source Link
Joel Coehoorn
  • 40.4k
  • 21
  • 111
  • 177
Loading
added 136 characters in body
Source Link
Joel Coehoorn
  • 40.4k
  • 21
  • 111
  • 177
Loading
added 136 characters in body
Source Link
Joel Coehoorn
  • 40.4k
  • 21
  • 111
  • 177
Loading
Source Link
Joel Coehoorn
  • 40.4k
  • 21
  • 111
  • 177
Loading