Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

6
  • 37
    +1 Was about to ask the same question; I'm wondering why my race or ethnicity is even relevant. This is the first time anyone has asked me, I've never even thought about it, and seems to serve no other purpose than racial profiling. (Which I don't think is desirable?)
    – user630245
    Commented Nov 25, 2019 at 22:39
  • 4
    @Inactive-ObjectingExtremism not an answer, but if I were to speculate it could be to set targets (x% of race y by date z). It could also be used to boast, 'more diverse than country A'.
    – JJJ
    Commented Nov 25, 2019 at 22:41
  • 4
    ...also for the record the gender options are really not great. I have never heard the phrase "gender non-binary" used - it's generally just "non-binary" - and it excludes a lot of genderqueer identities (genderfluid, for example). The "other" fill in the blank space is good, but the setup just felt a little weird to me.
    – auden
    Commented Nov 26, 2019 at 5:45
  • 3
    Worse, the "optional" questions don't have a way to skip (at least I haven't found any "skip" or "no answer" for the age, there's the "other" field in the others), making them in fact mandatory. Symptomatic. Commented Nov 26, 2019 at 10:29
  • 1
    Th underlying reason is pure laziness.
    – user540056
    Commented Dec 7, 2019 at 16:40
  • 3
    It's telling that the company declined to answer here. Commented Dec 24, 2019 at 19:58