Skip to main content
9 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Nov 1, 2019 at 17:55 comment added This_is_NOT_a_forum For us culturally challenged: "The United States one-cent coin (symbol: ¢), often called the penny, is a unit of currency equaling one one-hundredth of a United States dollar."
Nov 1, 2019 at 2:13 comment added Kenny83 Fair enough Monica, that makes total sense. Best of luck with the GoFundMe campaign and the case!
Oct 31, 2019 at 20:05 comment added Monica Cellio No-win-no-fee lawyers tend to focus on other areas, as best I can tell. I felt that getting the relevant expertise was more important. As soon as I can break down the costs publicly I will, but there are matters of timing and (temporary) privacy in play.
Oct 31, 2019 at 16:17 comment added Kenny83 @MonicaCellio Exactly! I don't understand why some feel as though "they/them" is rude; it's what I always use in order to avoid causing offence, if I feel as though I have to mention gender for grammatical reasons, but don't know the gender of the person or their preferred pronoun. But apparenty, those words cause offence too! Perhaps you could teach me a few things about grammar and how you avoid this minefield in your writing, since you seem to be a seasoned professional :-) And BTW, you are most welcome!
Oct 31, 2019 at 16:10 comment added Monica Cellio Thanks very much for these words! I agree; the core idea of the CoC change is sound, but the way they've handled all this has done damage to lots of people, including those they were trying to help. Knowingly misgendering someone is rude; I hope everybody agrees on that! I've never done that. Avoiding gender entirely and avoiding those landmines should be an acceptable path, especially as gender is rarely even relevant in Q&A. (And it's rare to talk about individuals, too.)
Oct 31, 2019 at 13:21 comment added Shadow Wizard Well until it does and gets deleted, you can now join chat. Monica is pingable in Tavern so you can also thank her in there where it won't get flagged. :-)
Oct 31, 2019 at 13:19 comment added Kenny83 LOL thanks mate :-) I knew it might be flagged as not being a proper answer, but felt that I had to write it anyway. Cheers!
Oct 31, 2019 at 13:16 comment added Shadow Wizard Technically not an answer, but I can't make myself flag such an honest thing, written so well. Cheers.
Oct 31, 2019 at 13:09 history answered Kenny83 CC BY-SA 4.0