Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

8
  • 10
    Technically not an answer, but I can't make myself flag such an honest thing, written so well. Cheers. Commented Oct 31, 2019 at 13:16
  • 2
    LOL thanks mate :-) I knew it might be flagged as not being a proper answer, but felt that I had to write it anyway. Cheers!
    – Kenny83
    Commented Oct 31, 2019 at 13:19
  • 5
    Well until it does and gets deleted, you can now join chat. Monica is pingable in Tavern so you can also thank her in there where it won't get flagged. :-) Commented Oct 31, 2019 at 13:21
  • 12
    Thanks very much for these words! I agree; the core idea of the CoC change is sound, but the way they've handled all this has done damage to lots of people, including those they were trying to help. Knowingly misgendering someone is rude; I hope everybody agrees on that! I've never done that. Avoiding gender entirely and avoiding those landmines should be an acceptable path, especially as gender is rarely even relevant in Q&A. (And it's rare to talk about individuals, too.) Commented Oct 31, 2019 at 16:10
  • 1
    @MonicaCellio Exactly! I don't understand why some feel as though "they/them" is rude; it's what I always use in order to avoid causing offence, if I feel as though I have to mention gender for grammatical reasons, but don't know the gender of the person or their preferred pronoun. But apparenty, those words cause offence too! Perhaps you could teach me a few things about grammar and how you avoid this minefield in your writing, since you seem to be a seasoned professional :-) And BTW, you are most welcome!
    – Kenny83
    Commented Oct 31, 2019 at 16:17
  • 7
    No-win-no-fee lawyers tend to focus on other areas, as best I can tell. I felt that getting the relevant expertise was more important. As soon as I can break down the costs publicly I will, but there are matters of timing and (temporary) privacy in play. Commented Oct 31, 2019 at 20:05
  • Fair enough Monica, that makes total sense. Best of luck with the GoFundMe campaign and the case!
    – Kenny83
    Commented Nov 1, 2019 at 2:13