Skip to main content
23 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Oct 29, 2019 at 4:39 history edited anongoodnurse CC BY-SA 4.0
added 258 characters in body
Oct 28, 2019 at 15:25 comment added anongoodnurse @user1306322 - Now that would be a message to spread that would be honest and worthwhile. Thank you.
Oct 28, 2019 at 9:02 comment added user1306322 @anongoodnurse I think the news to spread is precisely that "nobody knows all the news" which, if spread widely enough, might create enough pressure on SE to finally start communicating.
Oct 28, 2019 at 0:02 comment added anongoodnurse @AskAboutMonica - I haven't spoken to TPTB at SE headquarters, so I don't know for certain what their motives are for "disconnecting from reality". (Maybe they are working on a settlement with Monica. Who TF knows?) I am not active on many other sites. I've never seen this happen, and I agree that their silence makes SE look pretty bad, but is it destroying the site? I think to some of the current users and all the former ones, SE as devolved into subhuman, and we are disgusted. But I still would not advocate spreading the news when one doesn't know all the news.
Oct 27, 2019 at 22:23 comment added Ask About Monica I really think spreading it is the only option. Monica seems (understandably) reluctant to sue, and SE corporate isn't understanding how destroying their community is going to lead to their cash cow's slow death. They need to see the consequences of their behavior; they need to be reconnected to the reality they've disconnected from.
Oct 27, 2019 at 18:58 history edited Suvitruf - Andrei Apanasik CC BY-SA 4.0
added 6 characters in body
Oct 27, 2019 at 18:49 comment added ColleenV I just put a link in my profile to the most neutral recounting of what happened, and trust people to figure it out for themselves. If people are curious about the image, they can find out more and make up their own mind. If they don't make it through the post or do and don't care, so be it.
Oct 27, 2019 at 18:46 comment added anongoodnurse @ColleenV - Thank you. I agree with everything you said. I know as well that SE has done significant and undeserved damage to someone I respect regardless of the particulars of conversations. But how does one disseminate that ethically or effectively without all the pertinents?
Oct 27, 2019 at 18:39 comment added ColleenV @anongoodnurse I'm sorry that I wasn't more careful with how I wrote that. It's difficult to communicate tone in a comment with limited characters and it wasn't my intention to be snarky. I appreciate it when people point out how something might be misinterpreted, so thank you for that. I get that people are tired of the controversy. I wish this were over too. However, I don't think there's any question that what SE has done to Monica was wrong, regardless of the particulars of conversations in the TL or who said what to whom.
Oct 27, 2019 at 18:33 comment added anongoodnurse @ColleenV - As long as snark was brought into this thread, "I was responding to your opinion that raising awareness may not be helpful or fair." You were also belittling me personally ("Sorry you're tired of everything being on fire..."), publicly. See how easy it is to do something that hurts without meaning to? Or even meaning to. It's easy.
Oct 27, 2019 at 18:22 comment added anongoodnurse @MonicaCellio - It's kinda snarky but partly not. You can actually leave as many comments as you like. I'm just saying - broadly - do not do to others what you would not want done to yourself. Only the myself here isn't me. Or me to you. It pertains to comments I made under your post about others who were hurt. If I had the power to edit any of my comments after five minutes, I would be perceived as a bit more intelligent than I actually am.
Oct 27, 2019 at 18:20 comment added anongoodnurse @ColleenV - I think it's tricky raising awareness when one is not in complete possession of the facts. It's not necessarily wrong, but is it ethical? I am not in complete possession of the facts; in fact (no stupidity intended), I'm not sure anyone is. If, e.g., the Red Cross did something wrong, but you didn't know what it was or the circumstances around it, would you advocate for a campaign for a strike against them? I wouldn't. That's what I'm saying. The same goes for this. SE is no Red Cross, but I'm not in poossession of all the facts.
Oct 27, 2019 at 18:18 comment added Monica Cellio I am having trouble interpreting your last sentence as anything other than snarky. If that wasn't your intent, you might consider editing it. And no, I'm not planning to leave a big pile of comments here; wouldn't have left more than the one but for your ping.
Oct 27, 2019 at 18:11 comment added anongoodnurse @MonicaCellio - I think if you want to force an investigation into SE's actions, you are the very best person to do it, with the assistance of a lawyer/lawyers. There is ample support for GoFundMe contributions, and I would gladly make a contribution. I don't think you've acted entirely in good faith, and I know SE overreacted, but they seem entrenched, so I'll stick to my answer above. I don't want conflict with you, but I'll do it if you want. But please don't leave >11 comments on this thread, or I will wonder if you make exemptions for your own behavior that you do not allow others.
Oct 27, 2019 at 18:11 comment added ColleenV I understand that - I was responding to your opinion that raising awareness may not be helpful or fair. Raising awareness of a problem is almost always a good thing if you want that problem solved. It's only a bad thing if you either don't think it's actually a problem or if you don't want to do what is necessary to solve it.
Oct 27, 2019 at 18:08 comment added anongoodnurse @ColleenV - I will not stand in anyone's way nor argue that any of this is fair. I'm just stating my opinion fwiw.
Oct 27, 2019 at 18:07 comment added anongoodnurse @LаngLаngС - An outside investigation would be ideal. If someone - anyone- would like to hire lawyers to investigate, I would gladly contribute to put all this right again.
Oct 27, 2019 at 18:07 comment added ColleenV Sorry you're tired of everything being on fire, but for some people, this isn't even close to be resolved enough to be OK with once the dust settles. It's Stack Exchange that's dragging this out by hoping it will burn itself out (and the problematic people will remove their problematic selves from the community). I think it's a perfectly fair tactic to make the larger community more aware of what's going on and how SE has handled it. If more awareness makes something worse, maybe it's better to treat it then bury it and let it fester.
Oct 27, 2019 at 18:00 comment added Monica Cellio I don't see how saying "SE, someone in charge needs to look at this" is seeking to compel a particular action. Of course, a neutral party who reviews all the evidence is far more likely to come to one conclusion than the other, but awareness-raising is a standard tool for mostly-powerless populations like SE users.
Oct 27, 2019 at 17:58 history edited anongoodnurse CC BY-SA 4.0
added 10 characters in body
Oct 27, 2019 at 17:53 comment added anongoodnurse @LаngLаngС - Edited. Unless the person trying to bring about change in SE's stance knows all the factors, then they are indeed trying to compel/coerce/pressure SE into doing what they (with limited information) wish SE to do. I'm tired of this.
Oct 27, 2019 at 17:48 history edited anongoodnurse CC BY-SA 4.0
added 14 characters in body
Oct 27, 2019 at 17:41 history answered anongoodnurse CC BY-SA 4.0