Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

21
  • 26
    I would add a footnote "Release the transcripts"
    – dfhwze
    Commented Oct 27, 2019 at 8:37
  • 1
    @dfhwze ah sorry, I meant "user actions". What the company should do can directly be retrieved from my nickname.
    – GhostCat
    Commented Oct 27, 2019 at 8:40
  • 1
    I thought that messages on profile pages could only be edited every 30 days? Commented Oct 27, 2019 at 8:47
  • 2
    @Mari-LouA that only applies to the avatar picture. Beyond that, there is one problem with "strike". The idea is that we create attention. And that means to be present, like: answering questions, commenting,... A profile of a user doing nothing won't attract many curious readers. Thus I am hesitant about striking.
    – GhostCat
    Commented Oct 27, 2019 at 8:50
  • 11
    @dfhwze The transcripts contain private information and multiple of the people involved have said they do not consent to the release of the transcripts. Releasing the transcripts would be a serious infringement of privacy. Stack Exchange will not do it, they should not do it, and we should not ask them to do it. Commented Oct 27, 2019 at 9:21
  • 2
    @TannerSwett Private information or any information that could link a statement to an individual should be redacted.
    – dfhwze
    Commented Oct 27, 2019 at 9:23
  • 41
    It is obvious that the only way to get the company's attention is to twitter. They've gone all in on twitter-driven development, so that's the way to go. Posting on meta is pointless, they just ignore that or censor it.
    – Amarth
    Commented Oct 27, 2019 at 9:50
  • 2
    I just put the link to the image, and a link to the summation of what happened and let people who are curious about the image draw their own conclusions about what they should do about it. I am trying to disengage myself from SE, not get tied more tightly to it, so I'm probably a bad example.
    – ColleenV
    Commented Oct 27, 2019 at 11:20
  • 1
    If someone could make a better avatar that would be great, I added but it's not really legible Commented Oct 27, 2019 at 14:58
  • 4
    Maybe link to meta.stackexchange.com/q/336526/162102? That summarizes SE's offenses and the requested remediation. Commented Oct 27, 2019 at 16:51
  • 5
    If I was an activist....I would start a petition (using a third party service) to send to the CEO
    – charlietfl
    Commented Oct 27, 2019 at 17:55
  • 5
    @LаngLаngС of course my posts reflect my perspective. I don't know of an up-to-date, neutral summary. I've written several blog posts (which SE can't take down), which are linked from my post on Mi Yodeya meta. That and the big "roundup" posts here on MSE are probably the best entry points from my perspective. Commented Oct 27, 2019 at 17:57
  • 2
    @aparente001 I've been assuming that any edits from me would be automatically deemed as biased no matter what I write, so I've been sitting it out other than making some suggestions early on. I'll review it and consider linking from my blog. Commented Oct 27, 2019 at 22:07
  • 1
    @dfhwze That would be redacting most of it, by which point there's little point releasing the transcripts.
    – wizzwizz4
    Commented Oct 29, 2019 at 21:20
  • 2
    @wizzwizz4 I get that and would normally not be in favour of releasing confidential information. But when so much has already been said in public, sometimes transparency should prevail. On the other hand, this whole ordeal should have never been handled in public to begin with.
    – dfhwze
    Commented Oct 29, 2019 at 21:23