Skip to main content
27 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Nov 13, 2019 at 2:12 comment added Journeyman Geek In theory and in practice - leaking should be an exception not a practice and we kinda ensured at least security by obscurity in this case.If I needed things to be super private I'd just throw together matrix server with an attached riot instance and an encrypted room, since every user in the room needs to verify someone else.
Nov 13, 2019 at 2:08 comment added user351780 @enderland I'm not even sure that using discord would keep private things private. One invitation from an employee on the channel and The Register could be reading the entire transcript. Perhaps a private chat, not a team chat, using Keybase would be safe. Still, I think safest (not per se, best) is attorney to lawyer. Hopefully such professionals would apprehend the concept that actions have consequences.
Oct 31, 2019 at 15:37 comment added anonymous2 People need to stop yelling at start listening. IMHO.
Oct 30, 2019 at 20:21 comment added user316129 When Niemoller's poem has now been declared offensive, I doubt that any sincere desire to speak honestly and openly is left. Disagreement is censored, and asking questions gets someone suspended, grievances are left unaddressed, so what is left but rage?
Oct 30, 2019 at 12:36 comment added Journeyman Geek Well no. If i felt that would help I would say so. A longer term goal would be a less antagonistic relationship between the company and users.
Oct 29, 2019 at 22:34 comment added user640380 "Community", 'pish and tish' - there's only a company that has lead us all up the garden path and taken advantage of our good will. Wake up, go outside, SE is not, never was and never will be life.
Oct 28, 2019 at 23:23 comment added Journeyman Geek Imo it was getting better. It is currently what I would consider near rock bottom.
Oct 27, 2019 at 21:52 comment added Marc.2377 Wrong as I want to be, unfortunately I get the feeling that it is a bit too late for that.
Oct 27, 2019 at 0:40 comment added Monica Cellio @DVK I didn't follow it and had (have) no opinion.
Oct 25, 2019 at 22:46 comment added Journeyman Geek Yeah, I meant Jeff Atwood when I said Jeff
Oct 25, 2019 at 22:42 comment added DVK @MonicaCellio - because that is what progressives do. It's been their modus operandi for far far longer than you can imagine but ramped up significantly last 10 or 15 years. I wonder, did you protest when Mozilla fired the man basically responsible for Mozilla's success, Brendan Eich? Or did you cheer in the same car as the person who slandered you now?
Oct 25, 2019 at 20:33 history edited This_is_NOT_a_forum CC BY-SA 4.0
Added some context (see also comments).
Oct 25, 2019 at 20:15 comment added This_is_NOT_a_forum Which Jeff are you referring to? Jeff Atwood?
Oct 24, 2019 at 23:59 comment added Journeyman Geek @jhpratt Or to have reasonable yet loud voices. I'm pretty sure I've burnt through some of the stock of good will I might have with some in the company and even the community, but at the very least Its doubtful I would be written off as a troublemaker ;)
Oct 24, 2019 at 23:57 comment added Journeyman Geek @Scott they're putting out fires of all sizes!
Oct 24, 2019 at 23:55 comment added jhpratt Yelling is necessary when talking falls upon deaf ears.
Oct 24, 2019 at 20:22 comment added Scott - Слава Україні You posted “folks are putting out small fires and larger ones”.   That strikes me as a somewhat odd thing to say; maybe I’m missing the point.   Or did you mean to say “folks are putting out small fires and setting larger ones”?
Oct 24, 2019 at 8:58 comment added NoDataDumpNoContribution "This feels like literally the last chance to set things right - and actually come to something akin to an understanding." Everyone, not only the users but also the company, has hopefully cooled down in the time since the incident occurred and maybe we could now kind of talk about what went wrong. I actually think the company could come up with a few more real apologies regarding the treatment of Monica. If only to end this whole episode on a more graceful note.
Oct 24, 2019 at 8:43 comment added Journeyman Geek Teacher's Lounge. The not so secret secret mod chatroom
Oct 24, 2019 at 8:30 comment added Alex Sorry, but what does TL mean? Google says "timeline", but if it's something one doesn't want to go back to, it must be a website or something, right?
Oct 24, 2019 at 4:23 comment added auden @enderland I personally think SE right now, private or not, carries too much baggage for all parties, so I agree with discord. The intent for this is just to be a conversation. Two people talking, without meta bearing down upon us and things flying thick and fast. Monica and I are both people. It's time for a calm conversation that recognizes that shared humanity and good will.
Oct 24, 2019 at 4:16 comment added enderland As an observer (and friend of Monica's, who deeply cares for the mess she's in as a result of all this), I frankly don't trust SE enough to believe a conversation on the Stack Exchange platform would remain private. I strongly encourage discord for this if the intent is for it to be private.
Oct 24, 2019 at 2:54 history edited tchrist CC BY-SA 4.0
Super light-weight copyedit mostly just to change "go out of hand" to "get out of hand" and capitalize the Register; pray forgive the teeny weeny touch-ups for clarity’s sake. and feel free to undo anything I messed up.
Oct 24, 2019 at 2:54 history edited curiousdannii CC BY-SA 4.0
edited body
Oct 24, 2019 at 2:53 history edited tchrist CC BY-SA 4.0
Super light-weight copyedit mostly just to change "go out of hand" to "get out of hand" and capitalize the Register; pray forgive the teeny weeny touch-ups for clarity’s sake. and feel free to undo anything I messed up.
Oct 24, 2019 at 2:27 comment added Monica Cellio I wasn't planning to go back to TL. I've been bullied too many times there. Until that changes, too toxic for me. I want all the pain and damage to stop. I don't understand why the company has consistently refused to work with me to resolve this.
Oct 24, 2019 at 2:23 history answered Journeyman Geek CC BY-SA 4.0