Skip to main content
10 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Oct 25, 2019 at 11:36 comment added ChrisW I think moderators are considered a special case -- I think that moderators are now explicitly required to be willing, to use [neo]pronouns, whereas regular users are not required (link)
Oct 25, 2019 at 10:26 comment added Marc.2377 @MonicaCellio Fun fact. Have you have seen the SEDE queries on how rare are third-person pronouns over the network?
Oct 24, 2019 at 9:10 comment added user Forget the rule lawyering, the CoC is fine and clear.
Oct 24, 2019 at 7:11 comment added Gloweye As long as SE refuses to inform Monica about what statement of hers contained the CoC violation, it's completely irrelevant that mods are held to a higher standard.
Oct 24, 2019 at 3:48 comment added Ramhound @JohnOmielan - Fat chance of that ever happening. Stack Exchange does not seem to want to answer that question. There actions speak louder than the hundreds of words they have made public.
Oct 24, 2019 at 2:19 comment added John Omielan @MonicaCellio I believe it's important to get this issue clarified, not only for you but for anybody else who is a moderator, or even considering being one. If I get any kind of official response to my answer in that other post, I'll update my answer here accordingly & let you you know as well.
Oct 24, 2019 at 2:14 comment added John Omielan @JourneymanGeek I agree, which is why those 2 statements appear to me to be at least somewhat contradictory, and I asked for this to be clarified.
Oct 24, 2019 at 2:12 comment added Journeyman Geek Moderators are pretty much regular users too.
Oct 24, 2019 at 2:11 comment added Monica Cellio "It's actually pretty rare to need third-person pronouns at all" is, quite possibly word for word, something I've been saying all along. And my standard writing doesn't "conspicuously" avoid anything; I'm not a bad writer and the clunky examples people come up with don't apply. If I were to actually violate this policy then someone should have words with me about it, but presuming that I'm incapable of following it feels rather...pre-emptive. Which is how we got here in the first place. (The story about why I was fired changed along the way.)
Oct 24, 2019 at 2:08 history answered John Omielan CC BY-SA 4.0