Skip to main content
12 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Nov 6, 2021 at 9:57 comment added Akshay K Nair Yeh, SO is becoming more toxic every day, especially for newcomers, with laws that outcount the judicial system.
Oct 13, 2019 at 8:37 comment added einpoklum @Raedwald: The point is, that procedurally, the CoC is like a mine field. There's no due process on anything. It's sudden-death justice.
Oct 12, 2019 at 18:07 comment added user1725145 @Tensibai, you are not alone. I am a native English speaker and I won't take the risk either. If I give my time for free, it's simply not worthwhile to take any risks of being involved in a mess like Monica was.
Oct 12, 2019 at 8:17 comment added Peter Taylor @Raedwald, "Use stated pronouns (when known)." is only "easy to abide by" when your level of English is good enough that you don't need to think about it. I know plenty of people who will use he and her to refer to the same person.
Oct 11, 2019 at 19:11 comment added Galastel supports GoFundMonica I would upvote a hundred times if I could, for "I don't feel safe answering".
Oct 11, 2019 at 14:20 comment added ColleenV @Raedwald I think what you’re missing is that the CoC is vague that people have to trust that it will be enforced fairly. Monica’s treatment and the tone-deaf response to the backlash has left many of us feeling uncertain about that. That problem isn’t solved by repeatedly stating one particular interpretation of the CoC. We already know that processes aren’t followed when you’re on the “wrong” side. It’s been clearly demonstrated.
Oct 11, 2019 at 11:43 comment added Tensibai Indeed, I probably inferred that badly reading around, pretty sure I've read that could be considered against the code of conduct somewhere but I won't search it. Anyway I see enough possibility that could turn wrong to turn me off. Not arguing if it's a rational feeling or not, that just how I feel with all those rules and the actions taken
Oct 11, 2019 at 11:31 comment added Raedwald "not being allowed to disengage": nothing written in any SE post says this. Some people being disingenuous suggest it. Again, focus on what the CoC says: ""Use stated pronouns (when known)."
Oct 11, 2019 at 11:25 comment added Tensibai @Raedwald my problem is not on this point, not being allowed to disengage (hence why I answer this comment) is a problem, I don't see how getting out of an argument if leaving the talk can be flagged as refusing to acknowledge someone identity and I'm very unsure if that won't be declined due to how Monica was fired for that
Oct 11, 2019 at 11:12 comment added Raedwald "Now I'm afraid I could be suspended": I guess you are afraid of that because you think this is a complicated minefield, where one honest simple mistake can get you sanctioned. That is not the case, and is actually clearly stated as such in the CoC and the FAQ. "Use stated pronouns (when known)." is easy to abide by. I guess you however believe it is a complicated minefield because there are people who don't want to do that who have raised strawman objections to make it seem complicated.
Oct 11, 2019 at 10:55 comment added Mari-Lou A Слава Україні It's not just you, many native speakers are also bewildered, confused and wary.
Oct 11, 2019 at 10:09 history answered Tensibai CC BY-SA 4.0