Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

12
  • "This apology coincides with a Jewish holiday" - it was posted on Sunday though? (Yom Kippur starts Tuesday night)
    – npostavs
    Commented Oct 9, 2019 at 2:51
  • @npostavs I think there might be a time zone difference between you and me. Commented Oct 9, 2019 at 3:59
  • 4
    @npostavs I'm not an expert scholar of Judaism but to my knowledge, there is something called "Erev Yom Kippur" (the day before Yom Kippur) that is used for preparation and other traditions. Commented Oct 9, 2019 at 4:31
  • 4
    Monica responded quickly, laying out her timeframe --she was available Sunday evening, Monday, and Tuesday up until, I think, 5 pm-- and her willingness and eagerness to talk. The only problem I see with the timing of the Sunday post from management was that it came with such a delay. I think this answer could therefore be strengthened by removing the point about it being untimely. Commented Oct 9, 2019 at 6:38
  • 1
    +1, but I disagree with "they could live without us". It's more they could live without many of us (but not without all of us). Without the majority of us SE would go the way so many Internet sites went in the past: into insignificance at last. The best and ultimate Ferrari Formula 1 car is never ever going to win the championship without gas station attendants, pit lane cleaners, mechanics, drivers and so on. One who develops a business model based on "we actually don't need them" should be fired in that very second. Commented Oct 9, 2019 at 8:51
  • 2
    @aparente001 Thank you for your thoughts but I believe that this message was still untimely. Yom Kippur is a major holiday in Judaism, the timing of the release of this message is the equivalent as to if It were released a day or two before Chrismas. Commented Oct 9, 2019 at 21:34
  • 1
    @StephanS - You would rather he had waited until after the holiday? Are you sure about that? Commented Oct 10, 2019 at 2:13
  • @aparente001 Yeah, I personally think it would be more appropriate. You shouldn't say you'll stop doing something while you're doing it. I wouldn't take issue with the timing if there wasn't a part apologizing that the timing of Monica's firing was inappropriate. Commented Oct 10, 2019 at 3:25
  • @aparente001 it's like saying: "I promise I'll stop F***ing swearing". It's hypocritical, and shows the speaker doesn't actually intend to stop the thing they said they'll stop doing. Commented Oct 10, 2019 at 3:30
  • 6
    @StephanS - Okay, thanks for clarifying your opinion. I absolutely disagree, since Monica and we were all going nuts due to management's silence. Of course, it would have been better to get a response earlier, but I don't think it would have been good to wait until after this holiday to hear something reasonable sounding from management. // One thing I guess we can agree on is that we hope management arranges to have a real dialogue with Monica soon. Commented Oct 10, 2019 at 3:39
  • 2
    @aparente001 I guess we'll have to agree to disagree, although I did enjoy the civil back and forth, it was nice. Commented Oct 10, 2019 at 3:47
  • 2
    On the timing, had the followup come on Sunday when this was posted, and had it led to action, that would have been plenty of time before Yom Kippur. That's not what happened, but even the mid-day-Tuesday email could have been fine if it had offered more than it did. I would not have wanted him to delay everything until today, though I still feel like I haven't gotten much of anything here. Commented Oct 11, 2019 at 1:31