Skip to main content
Active reading [<https://en.wiktionary.org/wiki/material#Noun> <http://english.stackexchange.com/questions/4645>]. [(its = possessive, it's = "it is" or "it has". See for example <http://www.wikihow.com/Use-Its-and-It%27s>.)]
Source Link

As "Mad Scientist" (love that name - envy :-) ) points out the CEO joined mid-debacle. Nonetheless, the current CEO does, IMO, need to touch base with the members (who write maetrailthe material the site lives on - we're suppliers  !) to confirm the direction is really coming from the top, not, as it were, from the middle.

I am, BTW, not of the personal belief that management heads are the heads that need to go. AFAIKAFAIK, these people have served the site and community well to date (as did Monica). II want the root cause addressed, not those in the system that were (IMO) manipulated to achieve a political goals of a small number orof individuals. It's certainly a sensitive issue that kicked this off, but how in the name of all sanity did that get escalated to removing someone who has served us so well  ? II do not believe in accidents without causes is the way I would would sum it up, and I think out of control political agendas are the cause - something that should never be a part of SE, but were put ahead of the health of the community this time.

It is my feeling, and I doubt I am alone in this, that those who drove this action to oust Monica Cellio for their own political ends should be dealt with in kind. Saying "sorry" without punishing the guilty is saying "sorry we were caught". Only if the perpetrators of this are dealt with will the company be making a statement that it actually means it'sits words.

As "Mad Scientist" (love that name - envy :-) ) points out the CEO joined mid-debacle. Nonetheless, the current CEO does, IMO, need to touch base with the members (who write maetrail the site lives on - we're suppliers  !) to confirm the direction is really coming from the top, not, as it were, from the middle.

I am, BTW, not of the personal belief that management heads are the heads that need to go. AFAIK these people have served the site and community well to date (as did Monica). I want the root cause addressed, not those in the system that were (IMO) manipulated to achieve a political goals of a small number or individuals. It's certainly a sensitive issue that kicked this off, but how in the name of all sanity did that get escalated to removing someone who has served us so well  ? I do not believe in accidents without causes is the way I would would sum it up, and I think out of control political agendas are the cause - something that should never be a part of SE, but were put ahead of the health of the community this time.

It is my feeling, and I doubt I am alone in this, that those who drove this action to oust Monica Cellio for their own political ends should be dealt with in kind. Saying "sorry" without punishing the guilty is saying "sorry we were caught". Only if the perpetrators of this are dealt with will the company be making a statement that it actually means it's words.

As "Mad Scientist" (love that name - envy :-) ) points out the CEO joined mid-debacle. Nonetheless, the current CEO does, IMO, need to touch base with the members (who write the material the site lives on - we're suppliers!) to confirm the direction is really coming from the top, not, as it were, from the middle.

I am, BTW, not of the personal belief that management heads are the heads that need to go. AFAIK, these people have served the site and community well to date (as did Monica). I want the root cause addressed, not those in the system that were (IMO) manipulated to achieve a political goals of a small number of individuals. It's certainly a sensitive issue that kicked this off, but how in the name of all sanity did that get escalated to removing someone who has served us so well? I do not believe in accidents without causes is the way I would would sum it up, and I think out of control political agendas are the cause - something that should never be a part of SE, but were put ahead of the health of the community this time.

It is my feeling, and I doubt I am alone in this, that those who drove this action to oust Monica Cellio for their own political ends should be dealt with in kind. Saying "sorry" without punishing the guilty is saying "sorry we were caught". Only if the perpetrators of this are dealt with will the company be making a statement that it actually means its words.

Address and clarify some things re comments
Source Link

EDIT 1

As "Mad Scientist" (love that name - envy :-) ) points out the CEO joined mid-debacle. Nonetheless, the current CEO does, IMO, need to touch base with the members (who write maetrail the site lives on - we're suppliers !) to confirm the direction is really coming from the top, not, as it were, from the middle.

I am, BTW, not of the personal belief that management heads are the heads that need to go. AFAIK these people have served the site and community well to date (as did Monica). I want the root cause addressed, not those in the system that were (IMO) manipulated to achieve a political goals of a small number or individuals. It's certainly a sensitive issue that kicked this off, but how in the name of all sanity did that get escalated to removing someone who has served us so well ? I do not believe in accidents without causes is the way I would would sum it up, and I think out of control political agendas are the cause - something that should never be a part of SE, but were put ahead of the health of the community this time.

No group were responsible, but I think a small number of selfish individuals were. That's my impression from the evidence and my gut instinct from my life experience.

Some small number of people created this trouble for their own purposes and hurt the community. I'm a simple person who likes simple solutions : those people are a cancer and need to go. Others will differ in opinion and I respect your viewpoints.

Monica Cellio - victimized and deserves justice.

I am not asking for the removal of David Fullerton, Sara Chipps or Tim Post. I do not have enough information to make a call on who, precisely, drove this car off the road, but someone did. I am concerned there is an issue with a small minority of individuals who created and pushed this issue, not with the people they pushed (who probably should have known better, but I'm not perfect either).

Monica Cellio - victimized and deserves justice.

I am not asking for the removal of David Fullerton, Sara Chipps or Tim Post. I do not have enough information to make a call on who, precisely, drove this car off the road, but someone did. I am concerned there is an issue with a small minority who created and pushed this issue, not with the people they pushed (who probably should have known better, but I'm not perfect either).

EDIT 1

As "Mad Scientist" (love that name - envy :-) ) points out the CEO joined mid-debacle. Nonetheless, the current CEO does, IMO, need to touch base with the members (who write maetrail the site lives on - we're suppliers !) to confirm the direction is really coming from the top, not, as it were, from the middle.

I am, BTW, not of the personal belief that management heads are the heads that need to go. AFAIK these people have served the site and community well to date (as did Monica). I want the root cause addressed, not those in the system that were (IMO) manipulated to achieve a political goals of a small number or individuals. It's certainly a sensitive issue that kicked this off, but how in the name of all sanity did that get escalated to removing someone who has served us so well ? I do not believe in accidents without causes is the way I would would sum it up, and I think out of control political agendas are the cause - something that should never be a part of SE, but were put ahead of the health of the community this time.

No group were responsible, but I think a small number of selfish individuals were. That's my impression from the evidence and my gut instinct from my life experience.

Some small number of people created this trouble for their own purposes and hurt the community. I'm a simple person who likes simple solutions : those people are a cancer and need to go. Others will differ in opinion and I respect your viewpoints.

Monica Cellio - victimized and deserves justice.

I am not asking for the removal of David Fullerton, Sara Chipps or Tim Post. I do not have enough information to make a call on who, precisely, drove this car off the road, but someone did. I am concerned there is an issue with a small minority of individuals who created and pushed this issue, not with the people they pushed (who probably should have known better, but I'm not perfect either).

Source Link

This should be signed by the CEO.

While this is an interesting development, I cannot help be skeptical about a post about a serious crisis that is not from the CEO.

With all due respect to David Fullerton, you are the CTO and while you certainly have a responsibility to deal with this issue, a statement from the CEO, clear and unequivocal, stating that the company screwed up, regrets it and will make it right would be a lot simpler and less open to more ambiguity that a statement about intentions and futures with no actual commitment to immediate action. The company was intending to modify the CoC anyway (asking and taking advice would be better that forcing, of course), so that really doesn't count.

This is not a time for a CEO to try and keep their hands clean, but a time for them to show leadership. There is no evidence that this is happening. Caesar was not respected by his soldiers for staying out of the battle, but for appearing right in the middle of the fighting when it reached a crisis, leading from the front, not the back.

The suspicion is that, by not personally engaging, the CEO is demonstrating that they do not care about the community and see it as something they need have no contact with. This, I feel, is a key issue - engagement by the company with the community must be committed to at all levels.

Monica Cellio - victimized and deserves justice.

As with most people I am appalled (as should the company's lawyers be) by the disgusting public attacks on Monica Cellio. To my mind the CEO must address this issue directly and promptly.

It is my feeling, and I doubt I am alone in this, that those who drove this action to oust Monica Cellio for their own political ends should be dealt with in kind. Saying "sorry" without punishing the guilty is saying "sorry we were caught". Only if the perpetrators of this are dealt with will the company be making a statement that it actually means it's words.

Monica's reinstatement should be automatic, as should a public apology in the same press you attacked her in. Why delay this ?

Heads, in short, should roll. I incline, after reading as much as I can about the development of Monica's removal, that there exists a clique within the company and community who drove this action for political reasons of their own. I hope it is a small clique. Those are the heads that need to do the rolling, IMO.

I'm not sure if Monica would want heads to roll, maybe not, but I'm pretty sure I am expressing a view held by many.

I am not asking for the removal of David Fullerton, Sara Chipps or Tim Post. I do not have enough information to make a call on who, precisely, drove this car off the road, but someone did. I am concerned there is an issue with a small minority who created and pushed this issue, not with the people they pushed (who probably should have known better, but I'm not perfect either).