Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

12
  • 17
    Heh, someone's going around downvoting every post that says "thank you". Person, you are not helping. Commented Oct 6, 2019 at 23:28
  • 3
    Have an upvote for the great off-site writeup. Btw I wasn't aware of the data breaches at all.
    – Marc.2377
    Commented Oct 7, 2019 at 2:29
  • 25
    For what it's worth, I received a mod message from "moderators", who were actually employees — it couldn't have been an elected mod, since they made claims based on data they don't have access to. They straight up accused me of mass-downvoting people and twisted my own words to try and make it sound bad. This all comes very soon after I ask for clarification on the license change. If that's not harassing, I'm not sure what is.
    – jhpratt
    Commented Oct 7, 2019 at 4:28
  • 6
    @jhpratt - I would agree that would be harassment. I suspect I will be silenced for making that statement.
    – Ramhound
    Commented Oct 7, 2019 at 5:31
  • Excuse me, @LightnessRacesinOrbit, but I disagree. Saying "thank you" for an apology that is too little, too late, and makes absolutely no promise to set things right, deserves a downvote.
    – Auspex
    Commented Oct 8, 2019 at 13:48
  • @Auspex You haven't explained how you're helping by casting it. Commented Oct 8, 2019 at 15:25
  • 4
    @LightnessRacesinOrbit I assume the intent is to promote the answers that say a fair bi more than "thanks" so they rise to the top. As is the intention of the voting system, the "noise" gets downvoted to the bottom. Its not about popularity, its about useful content.
    – gbjbaanb
    Commented Oct 8, 2019 at 18:12
  • @gbjbaanb The intention of the voting system is not tactical voting by casting downvotes on undownvote-worthy material to "cheat" your way to making your upvotes count double. Commented Oct 8, 2019 at 23:34
  • 2
    @LightnessRacesinOrbit No one said anything about making votes count double. They simply explained to you how downvotes are helpful: they push down the low quality content, allowing the higher quality content to rise up. Like it or not, some people find your comment to be low enough quality to downvote. I personally do not find your comment to be helpful, as it brings up a completely different issue, and does not note any of the flaws in the apology.
    – trlkly
    Commented Oct 9, 2019 at 7:03
  • 1
    I will also add that I sometimes include comments when I decide how to vote. If I see someone doing something to mess with the system, I downvote to discourage such actions, as it is my only means to do so. If you try to tell people they are bad to downvote you, I see that as an attempt to influence the vote. It not only tries to make future voters feel bad for wanting to downvote, but also encourages people who agree with you to feel outrage and thus want to upvote what they wouldn't otherwise. It's not helpful to the purpose of SE to do anything like that.
    – trlkly
    Commented Oct 9, 2019 at 7:09
  • @trlkly I reserve the right to make a comment on this page that doesn't "note any of the flaws in the apology". That's not all we're here for. Frankly it's not at all what we're here for. Also your rambling about "outrage" is just ridiculous. Commented Oct 9, 2019 at 10:28
  • What we're here for is Stack Exchange: where the principle is high-quality answers are upvoted, poor quality answers are downvoted. I haven't downvoted anything that said "thanks" but provided real substance. And in any case, SE's own system "doubles" my votes. Not having enough rep on Meta, my downvotes don't get reported, so only my upvotes are visible.
    – Auspex
    Commented Oct 9, 2019 at 14:19