Skip to main content
added 730 characters in body
Source Link
Kevin
  • 10.2k
  • 3
  • 38
  • 63

Update 9 May 2020:

I've decided to resume moderating both my sites, with a significant change in mindset. As far as I'm concerned, Stack Exchange Inc. is now just another faceless corporation that cares only about profit for investors, with users only considered with the ultimate goal being to maximize profit. Employees are no longer presumed friends, they're just corporate proxies acting first and foremost for the company's profit. Moderators from other sites are no different from other users. No extra presumption of trustworthiness or benefit of the doubt. The Teacher's Lounge and mod site are just another community and I'll be considering much more carefully before sharing personal info there.


I've been holding off action to read over everything, mull things over, and I have decided to suspend my moderator activities on both Scifi and Outdoors in protest of Stack Exchange, Inc.'s actions. I've been gathering my thoughts on the situation and will post a larger, (hopefully) more powerful dissertation on the situation as soon as I finish.

I do not take this action lightly, as I know it leaves both my sites with only the least active of the active moderators, but I think that is necessary to prompt action, or at least a reasonable response, from SE.

I've been holding off action to read over everything, mull things over, and I have decided to suspend my moderator activities on both Scifi and Outdoors in protest of Stack Exchange, Inc.'s actions. I've been gathering my thoughts on the situation and will post a larger, (hopefully) more powerful dissertation on the situation as soon as I finish.

I do not take this action lightly, as I know it leaves both my sites with only the least active of the active moderators, but I think that is necessary to prompt action, or at least a reasonable response, from SE.

Update 9 May 2020:

I've decided to resume moderating both my sites, with a significant change in mindset. As far as I'm concerned, Stack Exchange Inc. is now just another faceless corporation that cares only about profit for investors, with users only considered with the ultimate goal being to maximize profit. Employees are no longer presumed friends, they're just corporate proxies acting first and foremost for the company's profit. Moderators from other sites are no different from other users. No extra presumption of trustworthiness or benefit of the doubt. The Teacher's Lounge and mod site are just another community and I'll be considering much more carefully before sharing personal info there.


I've been holding off action to read over everything, mull things over, and I have decided to suspend my moderator activities on both Scifi and Outdoors in protest of Stack Exchange, Inc.'s actions. I've been gathering my thoughts on the situation and will post a larger, (hopefully) more powerful dissertation on the situation as soon as I finish.

I do not take this action lightly, as I know it leaves both my sites with only the least active of the active moderators, but I think that is necessary to prompt action, or at least a reasonable response, from SE.

added 27 characters in body
Source Link
Kevin
  • 10.2k
  • 3
  • 38
  • 63

I've been holding off action to read over everything, mull things over, and I have decided to suspend my moderator activities on both Scifi and Outdoors in protest of Stack Exchange, Inc.'s actions. I've been gathering my thoughts on the situation and will post a larger, (hopefully) more powerful dissertation on the situation as soon as I finish.

I do not take this action lightly, as I know it leaves both my sites with only the least active of the active moderators, but I think that is necessary to prompt action, or at least a reasonable response, from SE.

I've been holding off action to read over everything, mull things over, and I have decided to suspend my moderator activities in protest of Stack Exchange, Inc.'s actions. I've been gathering my thoughts on the situation and will post a larger, (hopefully) more powerful dissertation on the situation as soon as I finish.

I do not take this action lightly, as I know it leaves both my sites with only the least active of the active moderators, but I think that is necessary to prompt action, or at least a reasonable response, from SE.

I've been holding off action to read over everything, mull things over, and I have decided to suspend my moderator activities on both Scifi and Outdoors in protest of Stack Exchange, Inc.'s actions. I've been gathering my thoughts on the situation and will post a larger, (hopefully) more powerful dissertation on the situation as soon as I finish.

I do not take this action lightly, as I know it leaves both my sites with only the least active of the active moderators, but I think that is necessary to prompt action, or at least a reasonable response, from SE.

Source Link
Kevin
  • 10.2k
  • 3
  • 38
  • 63

I've been holding off action to read over everything, mull things over, and I have decided to suspend my moderator activities in protest of Stack Exchange, Inc.'s actions. I've been gathering my thoughts on the situation and will post a larger, (hopefully) more powerful dissertation on the situation as soon as I finish.

I do not take this action lightly, as I know it leaves both my sites with only the least active of the active moderators, but I think that is necessary to prompt action, or at least a reasonable response, from SE.