Skip to main content
added 879 characters in body
Source Link
Anton Menshov
  • 10.7k
  • 11
  • 31
  • 67

Update as of Nov 14:

It has been about 1.5 months since I've suspended my moderation activity. Today, as of Nov 14, I return back to moderating since I feel that I am making more damage to my community rather than attracting the attention of SE or supporting Monica.

Nothing changed in my position towards the situation. However, I don't see now how that situation can be resolved without lawyers, it's been too long and every publicly available information (and the lack of it) supports this hypothesis.

Thus, instead of continuing moderation suspension, I will simply support Monica's GoFundMe campaign. It will be more productive. I reserve my right (whatever that means) to suspend my moderation activity again in case I feel that it is needed and helpful again.


I am a moderator at Computational Science SE.

I was patiently waiting for any official response or action for Saturday, Sunday, Monday, and Tuesday. I am very thankful to many community managers who were nothing but supportive in those very dark and sad times. However, I still do not see any intent from SE to react to those events in any constructive manner. Yes, I certainly make a huge distinction between the CMs and SE, the company.

I will continue waiting for those actions from SE as, for some stupid reasons, I still believe that good things can just happen, even when the infamous corporate world comes into play. However, while I am waiting, I will suspend all non-urgent moderator activity on Computational Science. I strongly considered (and consider in the near future) the resignation, but I am not there yet, mostly, because of my commitment to the community I volunteered to serve.

Where I personally stand:

  • I would be happy to give all the support and respect to all users of SE. I have no problems using any pronouns; however, I tend to write using the gender-neutral language regardless. Maybe, due to the technical nature of the topics that I usually write on.
  • I am extremely skeptical if firing Monica was justified.
  • I am very sad and angry about how SE fired Monica.
  • I am even more sad and angry about how SE handles this situation now.

I am a moderator at Computational Science SE.

I was patiently waiting for any official response or action for Saturday, Sunday, Monday, and Tuesday. I am very thankful to many community managers who were nothing but supportive in those very dark and sad times. However, I still do not see any intent from SE to react to those events in any constructive manner. Yes, I certainly make a huge distinction between the CMs and SE, the company.

I will continue waiting for those actions from SE as, for some stupid reasons, I still believe that good things can just happen, even when the infamous corporate world comes into play. However, while I am waiting, I will suspend all non-urgent moderator activity on Computational Science. I strongly considered (and consider in the near future) the resignation, but I am not there yet, mostly, because of my commitment to the community I volunteered to serve.

Where I personally stand:

  • I would be happy to give all the support and respect to all users of SE. I have no problems using any pronouns; however, I tend to write using the gender-neutral language regardless. Maybe, due to the technical nature of the topics that I usually write on.
  • I am extremely skeptical if firing Monica was justified.
  • I am very sad and angry about how SE fired Monica.
  • I am even more sad and angry about how SE handles this situation now.

Update as of Nov 14:

It has been about 1.5 months since I've suspended my moderation activity. Today, as of Nov 14, I return back to moderating since I feel that I am making more damage to my community rather than attracting the attention of SE or supporting Monica.

Nothing changed in my position towards the situation. However, I don't see now how that situation can be resolved without lawyers, it's been too long and every publicly available information (and the lack of it) supports this hypothesis.

Thus, instead of continuing moderation suspension, I will simply support Monica's GoFundMe campaign. It will be more productive. I reserve my right (whatever that means) to suspend my moderation activity again in case I feel that it is needed and helpful again.


I am a moderator at Computational Science SE.

I was patiently waiting for any official response or action for Saturday, Sunday, Monday, and Tuesday. I am very thankful to many community managers who were nothing but supportive in those very dark and sad times. However, I still do not see any intent from SE to react to those events in any constructive manner. Yes, I certainly make a huge distinction between the CMs and SE, the company.

I will continue waiting for those actions from SE as, for some stupid reasons, I still believe that good things can just happen, even when the infamous corporate world comes into play. However, while I am waiting, I will suspend all non-urgent moderator activity on Computational Science. I strongly considered (and consider in the near future) the resignation, but I am not there yet, mostly, because of my commitment to the community I volunteered to serve.

Where I personally stand:

  • I would be happy to give all the support and respect to all users of SE. I have no problems using any pronouns; however, I tend to write using the gender-neutral language regardless. Maybe, due to the technical nature of the topics that I usually write on.
  • I am extremely skeptical if firing Monica was justified.
  • I am very sad and angry about how SE fired Monica.
  • I am even more sad and angry about how SE handles this situation now.
added small clarification
Source Link
Anton Menshov
  • 10.7k
  • 11
  • 31
  • 67

I am a moderator at Computational Science SE.

I was patiently waiting for any official response or action for Saturday, Sunday, Monday, and Tuesday. I am very thankful to many community managers who were nothing but supportive in those very dark and sad times. However, I still do not see any intent from SE to react to those events in any constructive manner. Yes, I certainly make a huge distinction between the CMs and SE, the company.

I will continue waiting for those actions from SE as, for some stupid reasons, I still believe that good things can just happen, even when the infamous corporate world comes into play. However, while I am waiting, I will suspend all non-urgent moderator activity on Computational Science. I strongly considered (and consider in the near future) the resignation, but I am not there yet, mostly, because of my commitment to the community I volunteered to serve.

Where I personally stand:

  • I would be happy to give all the support and respect to all users of SE. I have no problems using any pronouns; however, I tend to write using the gender-neutral language regardless. Maybe, due to the technical nature of the topics that I usually write on.
  • I am extremely skeptical if firing Monica was justified.
  • I am very sad and angry about how SE fired Monica.
  • I am even more sad and angry about how SE handles this situation now.

I am a moderator at Computational Science SE.

I was patiently waiting for any official response or action for Saturday, Sunday, Monday, and Tuesday. I am very thankful to many community managers who were nothing but supportive in those very dark and sad times. However, I still do not see any intent from SE to react to those events in any constructive manner. Yes, I certainly make a huge distinction between the CMs and SE, the company.

I will continue waiting for those actions from SE as, for some stupid reasons, I still believe that good things can just happen, even when the infamous corporate world comes into play. However, while I am waiting, I will suspend all non-urgent moderator activity on Computational Science. I strongly considered (and consider in the near future) the resignation, but I am not there yet, mostly, because of my commitment to the community I volunteered to serve.

Where I personally stand:

  • I would be happy to give all the support and respect to all users of SE. I have no problems using any pronouns; however, I tend to write using the gender-neutral language regardless. Maybe, due to the technical nature of the topics that I usually write on.
  • I am very sad and angry about how SE fired Monica.
  • I am even more sad and angry about how SE handles this situation now.

I am a moderator at Computational Science SE.

I was patiently waiting for any official response or action for Saturday, Sunday, Monday, and Tuesday. I am very thankful to many community managers who were nothing but supportive in those very dark and sad times. However, I still do not see any intent from SE to react to those events in any constructive manner. Yes, I certainly make a huge distinction between the CMs and SE, the company.

I will continue waiting for those actions from SE as, for some stupid reasons, I still believe that good things can just happen, even when the infamous corporate world comes into play. However, while I am waiting, I will suspend all non-urgent moderator activity on Computational Science. I strongly considered (and consider in the near future) the resignation, but I am not there yet, mostly, because of my commitment to the community I volunteered to serve.

Where I personally stand:

  • I would be happy to give all the support and respect to all users of SE. I have no problems using any pronouns; however, I tend to write using the gender-neutral language regardless. Maybe, due to the technical nature of the topics that I usually write on.
  • I am extremely skeptical if firing Monica was justified.
  • I am very sad and angry about how SE fired Monica.
  • I am even more sad and angry about how SE handles this situation now.
Source Link
Anton Menshov
  • 10.7k
  • 11
  • 31
  • 67

I am a moderator at Computational Science SE.

I was patiently waiting for any official response or action for Saturday, Sunday, Monday, and Tuesday. I am very thankful to many community managers who were nothing but supportive in those very dark and sad times. However, I still do not see any intent from SE to react to those events in any constructive manner. Yes, I certainly make a huge distinction between the CMs and SE, the company.

I will continue waiting for those actions from SE as, for some stupid reasons, I still believe that good things can just happen, even when the infamous corporate world comes into play. However, while I am waiting, I will suspend all non-urgent moderator activity on Computational Science. I strongly considered (and consider in the near future) the resignation, but I am not there yet, mostly, because of my commitment to the community I volunteered to serve.

Where I personally stand:

  • I would be happy to give all the support and respect to all users of SE. I have no problems using any pronouns; however, I tend to write using the gender-neutral language regardless. Maybe, due to the technical nature of the topics that I usually write on.
  • I am very sad and angry about how SE fired Monica.
  • I am even more sad and angry about how SE handles this situation now.