Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

6
  • 7
    @amon I will suspend moderation for the time being. The main reason is the lack of transparency from SE's side.
    – nicoguaro
    Commented Oct 3, 2019 at 23:08
  • @AntonMenShov Have you considered changing the display name or avatar to attract more attention to the campaign, since a moderator is highly visible? Commented Nov 15, 2019 at 8:47
  • 3
    The decision to resume moderator duties is yours alone to make, of course, but doing so while the company has done nothing to fix the situation just enables them to go on as they please. At this point, personally, I do not understand anybody continuing to moderate. Mods laying down their tools in serious numbers is the one thing that could actually maybe force them to change course.
    – Pekka
    Commented Nov 15, 2019 at 11:33
  • @vicky_molokh I did consider it; however, "reinstate Monica" is not what I am fighting for. I have so many problems with how she was fired, how SE handled and continues to handle the situation and many other recent actions. I think that SE actively harmed Monica. I think that SE actively harmed the LGBTQ community. I think that communication was terrible – and many other things. Commented Nov 15, 2019 at 11:52
  • 3
    @PekkasupportsGoFundMonica I understand that, and I could not have chosen the worse timing to resume moderation 2 hours before SE announced it would start removing GoFund direct links. I also see that my (very small) community is suffering from a lack of attention. I am serving Computational Science, not SE as a company. Now, I am not ready to just give up; however, I am very close to resigning (instead of suspending as a half-measure). Commented Nov 15, 2019 at 11:57
  • 2
    @PekkasupportsGoFundMonica I also see, that SE is unlikely to do anything outside of their "lawyers channel". As of Nov 15, it is clear to me. Thus, money and lawyers matter, unless somehow community actions will be able to cut down traffic to StackOverflow by 20-30%, which is unrealistic. Commented Nov 15, 2019 at 11:58