Skip to main content
10 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Apr 30, 2020 at 10:44 history edited Rory Alsop CC BY-SA 4.0
added 301 characters in body
Nov 6, 2019 at 0:56 comment added user540056 We on TGO have been spoiled by having such a thoughtful and responsive moderator as you, Rory. Since I joined TGO in 2015, it has evolved to include more aspects of the outdoors, in no small part because you listened to users and, when presented with well thought out arguments, changed your mind! You stuck to your guns when you should, and you changed your mind when you decided it made sense to do so. I hope we can all go back in good conscience, eventually.
Nov 1, 2019 at 15:31 comment added Tim Sad to hear that, Rory, but I believe it's the right thing to do. You've been a great mod on the m-p&t site. When every mod stands down, perhaps then the 'powers that be' will stop, listen and do some thinking - about the whole of SE, not just themselves, which was great but has now descended into an organisation which doesn't command any respect. I was considering joining mods soon - that thought has disappeared funnily enough!
Oct 30, 2019 at 19:26 comment added user154510 I enjoyed moderating with you on Music. I've been inactive for a long time, but always thought I would come back. It seems that no matter where a mod falls on the particular issue at hand, at the end of the day we remain looked down by SE and exploited for our time. I finally sent a request to de-mod me to community@ yesterday.
Oct 4, 2019 at 0:06 comment added Sue Saddest Farewell TGO GL Rory, I'm deeply and genuinely saddened by what has happened. I don't want to lose you, but joining others in taking a stand indicates unselfish loyalty and integrity. You're dedication to the sites you mod is way beyond what's expected. You're a mentor, ambassador and gentleman. It's not easy to avoid being embroiled in conflicts, but somehow you do it! When a firm hand is needed, you do it gently. When I've struggled at TGO, your handling of things is why I've stayed. I'm a tiny part in the large group of people who've been blessed by you. I hope this gets fixed!
Oct 1, 2019 at 18:40 comment added Anders Rory, you and all the other mods have been doing a great job on Security.SE. I understand why you take this step, and I really, really hope SE sorts this out so we can have you back. Either way, I am very grateful for all the hard work you have been putting in. Thank you!
Oct 1, 2019 at 17:58 comment added Rory Alsop Me too, @AnneDaunted
Oct 1, 2019 at 17:54 comment added Anne Daunted GoFundMonica I sincerely hope that SE hears the message loud and clear.
Oct 1, 2019 at 17:51 comment added Rory Alsop You may think that Jarrod - I am holding out some hope. That's 40-odd mod roles stepping away or down entirely, a not insignificant percentage. There will be reputational impact, and day-to-day impact from mod tasks not being completed.
Oct 1, 2019 at 16:48 history answered Rory Alsop CC BY-SA 4.0