Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

8
  • 12
    You may think that Jarrod - I am holding out some hope. That's 40-odd mod roles stepping away or down entirely, a not insignificant percentage. There will be reputational impact, and day-to-day impact from mod tasks not being completed.
    – Rory Alsop
    Commented Oct 1, 2019 at 17:51
  • 7
    I sincerely hope that SE hears the message loud and clear. Commented Oct 1, 2019 at 17:54
  • 2
    Me too, @AnneDaunted
    – Rory Alsop
    Commented Oct 1, 2019 at 17:58
  • 11
    Rory, you and all the other mods have been doing a great job on Security.SE. I understand why you take this step, and I really, really hope SE sorts this out so we can have you back. Either way, I am very grateful for all the hard work you have been putting in. Thank you!
    – Anders
    Commented Oct 1, 2019 at 18:40
  • 10
    Rory, I'm deeply and genuinely saddened by what has happened. I don't want to lose you, but joining others in taking a stand indicates unselfish loyalty and integrity. You're dedication to the sites you mod is way beyond what's expected. You're a mentor, ambassador and gentleman. It's not easy to avoid being embroiled in conflicts, but somehow you do it! When a firm hand is needed, you do it gently. When I've struggled at TGO, your handling of things is why I've stayed. I'm a tiny part in the large group of people who've been blessed by you. I hope this gets fixed! Commented Oct 4, 2019 at 0:06
  • 1
    I enjoyed moderating with you on Music. I've been inactive for a long time, but always thought I would come back. It seems that no matter where a mod falls on the particular issue at hand, at the end of the day we remain looked down by SE and exploited for our time. I finally sent a request to de-mod me to community@ yesterday.
    – user154510
    Commented Oct 30, 2019 at 19:26
  • 1
    Sad to hear that, Rory, but I believe it's the right thing to do. You've been a great mod on the m-p&t site. When every mod stands down, perhaps then the 'powers that be' will stop, listen and do some thinking - about the whole of SE, not just themselves, which was great but has now descended into an organisation which doesn't command any respect. I was considering joining mods soon - that thought has disappeared funnily enough!
    – Tim
    Commented Nov 1, 2019 at 15:31
  • 1
    We on TGO have been spoiled by having such a thoughtful and responsive moderator as you, Rory. Since I joined TGO in 2015, it has evolved to include more aspects of the outdoors, in no small part because you listened to users and, when presented with well thought out arguments, changed your mind! You stuck to your guns when you should, and you changed your mind when you decided it made sense to do so. I hope we can all go back in good conscience, eventually.
    – user540056
    Commented Nov 6, 2019 at 0:56