Skip to main content
added 125 characters in body
Source Link
Null
  • 4.4k
  • 3
  • 18
  • 33

My latest thoughts on this matter are posted on SciFi meta.


I am suspending my activity as a moderator. Combined with the fact that some of my fellow moderators on my site have also suspended their activity (Rand al'Thor and Kevin), this means Science Fiction & Fantasy is currently without its three most active moderators.

SE has acted deplorably in summarily removing a respected moderator in order to make an example out of her. Moreover, SE appears to have been completely unprepared to deal with the consequences of their actions since the company has only managed to post perfunctory and ill-received responses (most of them canned, e.g. this one) and has not even released the new CoC which triggered their action.

How are moderators supposed to enforce a CoC which hasn't even been released to us, much less to users who might be in violation of it? And why should we moderate if we are in danger of being removed for failing to properly enforce an unreleased CoC?

I may or may not resume my activity as a moderator depending on SE's actions going forward. I will wait for SE's next move before making my decision. The ball is in your court, SE. You need to do a much better job going forward.

I am suspending my activity as a moderator. Combined with the fact that some of my fellow moderators on my site have also suspended their activity (Rand al'Thor and Kevin), this means Science Fiction & Fantasy is currently without its three most active moderators.

SE has acted deplorably in summarily removing a respected moderator in order to make an example out of her. Moreover, SE appears to have been completely unprepared to deal with the consequences of their actions since the company has only managed to post perfunctory and ill-received responses (most of them canned, e.g. this one) and has not even released the new CoC which triggered their action.

How are moderators supposed to enforce a CoC which hasn't even been released to us, much less to users who might be in violation of it? And why should we moderate if we are in danger of being removed for failing to properly enforce an unreleased CoC?

I may or may not resume my activity as a moderator depending on SE's actions going forward. I will wait for SE's next move before making my decision. The ball is in your court, SE. You need to do a much better job going forward.

My latest thoughts on this matter are posted on SciFi meta.


I am suspending my activity as a moderator. Combined with the fact that some of my fellow moderators on my site have also suspended their activity (Rand al'Thor and Kevin), this means Science Fiction & Fantasy is currently without its three most active moderators.

SE has acted deplorably in summarily removing a respected moderator in order to make an example out of her. Moreover, SE appears to have been completely unprepared to deal with the consequences of their actions since the company has only managed to post perfunctory and ill-received responses (most of them canned, e.g. this one) and has not even released the new CoC which triggered their action.

How are moderators supposed to enforce a CoC which hasn't even been released to us, much less to users who might be in violation of it? And why should we moderate if we are in danger of being removed for failing to properly enforce an unreleased CoC?

I may or may not resume my activity as a moderator depending on SE's actions going forward. I will wait for SE's next move before making my decision. The ball is in your court, SE. You need to do a much better job going forward.

deleted 69 characters in body
Source Link
Null
  • 4.4k
  • 3
  • 18
  • 33

I am also suspending my activity as a moderator. Combined with the fact that some of my fellow moderators on my site have also suspended their activity (Rand al'Thor's suspension of activityal'Thor and Kevin), this means Science Fiction & Fantasy will beis currently without its twothree most active moderators.

I was offline this weekend on vacation when this all went down so I'm still catching up on all the discussions. However, all that I've seen so far indicates that SE has acted deplorably in summarily removing a respected moderator in order to make an example out of her. Moreover, SE appears to have been completely unprepared to deal with the consequences of their actions since the company has only managed to post perfunctory and ill-received responses (most of them canned, e.g. this one) and has not even released the new CoC which triggered their action.

How are moderators supposed to enforce a CoC which hasn't even been released to us, much less to users who might be in violation of it? And why should we moderate if we are in danger of being removed for failing to properly enforce an unreleased CoC?

I may or may not resume my activity as a moderator depending on SE's actions going forward. I will continue to catch up on events and wait for SE's next move before making my decision. The ball is in your court, SE. You need to do a much better job going forward.

I am also suspending my activity as a moderator. Combined with Rand al'Thor's suspension of activity, this means Science Fiction & Fantasy will be without its two most active moderators.

I was offline this weekend on vacation when this all went down so I'm still catching up on all the discussions. However, all that I've seen so far indicates that SE has acted deplorably in summarily removing a respected moderator in order to make an example out of her. Moreover, SE appears to have been completely unprepared to deal with the consequences of their actions since the company has only managed to post perfunctory and ill-received responses (most of them canned, e.g. this one) and has not even released the new CoC which triggered their action.

How are moderators supposed to enforce a CoC which hasn't even been released to us, much less to users who might be in violation of it? And why should we moderate if we are in danger of being removed for failing to properly enforce an unreleased CoC?

I may or may not resume my activity as a moderator depending on SE's actions going forward. I will continue to catch up on events and wait for SE's next move before making my decision. The ball is in your court, SE. You need to do a much better job going forward.

I am suspending my activity as a moderator. Combined with the fact that some of my fellow moderators on my site have also suspended their activity (Rand al'Thor and Kevin), this means Science Fiction & Fantasy is currently without its three most active moderators.

SE has acted deplorably in summarily removing a respected moderator in order to make an example out of her. Moreover, SE appears to have been completely unprepared to deal with the consequences of their actions since the company has only managed to post perfunctory and ill-received responses (most of them canned, e.g. this one) and has not even released the new CoC which triggered their action.

How are moderators supposed to enforce a CoC which hasn't even been released to us, much less to users who might be in violation of it? And why should we moderate if we are in danger of being removed for failing to properly enforce an unreleased CoC?

I may or may not resume my activity as a moderator depending on SE's actions going forward. I will wait for SE's next move before making my decision. The ball is in your court, SE. You need to do a much better job going forward.

Source Link
Null
  • 4.4k
  • 3
  • 18
  • 33

I am also suspending my activity as a moderator. Combined with Rand al'Thor's suspension of activity, this means Science Fiction & Fantasy will be without its two most active moderators.

I was offline this weekend on vacation when this all went down so I'm still catching up on all the discussions. However, all that I've seen so far indicates that SE has acted deplorably in summarily removing a respected moderator in order to make an example out of her. Moreover, SE appears to have been completely unprepared to deal with the consequences of their actions since the company has only managed to post perfunctory and ill-received responses (most of them canned, e.g. this one) and has not even released the new CoC which triggered their action.

How are moderators supposed to enforce a CoC which hasn't even been released to us, much less to users who might be in violation of it? And why should we moderate if we are in danger of being removed for failing to properly enforce an unreleased CoC?

I may or may not resume my activity as a moderator depending on SE's actions going forward. I will continue to catch up on events and wait for SE's next move before making my decision. The ball is in your court, SE. You need to do a much better job going forward.