Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

12
  • 27
    "I've been asked a few times about my demodding. The simple, honest answer is simply that... I'm tired" Yes, I understand that. I'm tired, my life is busy and it can be utterly exhausting being a moderator. Take care.
    – user310756
    Commented Sep 29, 2019 at 22:29
  • 18
    While I appreciate the sentiment of statements like "To reach out to those who hurt us, and to realise the hurt we could have caused unknowingly," it's way too easy for talk about healing rifts and the like to become just another form of what Aza said: "I think they hope that the more we share, the better the situation will become. That has never been true. The same voices push back against our presence, every time." Telling such a person to heal themselves and stretch out a bridge building hand seems naive. Commented Sep 30, 2019 at 0:46
  • 7
    And yet after all this - that's what I feel about it. I'll leave the anger and outrage to others. Maybe they'll change things. Faith in people's better natures is a perfectly fine hill to choose to die on. Commented Sep 30, 2019 at 1:04
  • 100
    The irony...Unicorn Meta Zoo #9: How do we handle problem users? There should be a new podcast entitled: How do we handle our handling of trusted users? Commented Sep 30, 2019 at 6:05
  • 42
    This stinks. Between you, Yvette and Monica going, the last people I trusted to nudge SE in the right direction are gone from influence.
    – Magisch
    Commented Sep 30, 2019 at 6:19
  • 51
    @Mari-LouA or more likely "Unicorn Meta Zoo #10: How we destroyed Stack Exchange, bit after bit" Commented Sep 30, 2019 at 7:54
  • 1
    Were you demodded or did you stand down - subtle differences matter in these extraordinary times?
    – user619714
    Commented Sep 30, 2019 at 11:17
  • 27
    I stood down. I believe the exact words I used were "I need to take a break". At no point was I asked to step down by anyone. This is clearly and unequivocally a choice I made voluntarily. Commented Sep 30, 2019 at 11:20
  • 3
    This is one of the most well written posts I have ever read.
    – Neo
    Commented Sep 30, 2019 at 13:39
  • Thank you, Journeyman. Very well explained, very well put. I sometimes do feel like there is no solution, since we're at the point where the slightest provocation (from whichever person, on whichever side of the issue) causes SUCH a big jump.... nothing can be expected to move. It's a bit disheartening, really.... hopefully something CAN change :/
    – Patrice
    Commented Sep 30, 2019 at 15:34
  • 2
    Thank you for doing things that many of us would want to, but for one reason or another don't. Commented Sep 30, 2019 at 17:14
  • @JourneymanGeek ty for your kind of word.
    – Andy K
    Commented Oct 2, 2019 at 9:10