Skip to main content
10 events
when toggle format what by license comment
May 5, 2020 at 20:05 history edited Sonic the Anonymous Hedgehog CC BY-SA 4.0
Better emphasize that just one more downvote than the number of upvotes will result in automatic deletion
Aug 28, 2019 at 19:38 comment added Jason Bassford @SonictheAnonymousHedgehog Ah, that's right. (I rarely ask questions, so I'm primarily used to answer reputation.) That would cause the following to be deleted, but they could each be saved by a single upvote: +1/-3, +10/-25, and +100/-250. That doesn't seem immediately wrong to me. And certainly better than basing it purely on the total score. I note that this is actually 28% positive, not 40%, if I look at percentage of total votes. (And the 10 points of reputation, had that been true, would have been 17%, not 20%.)
Aug 28, 2019 at 19:10 comment added Sonic the Anonymous Hedgehog @JasonBassford No, it's 40% positive. Keep in mind that question upvotes only award 5 rep, not 10.
Aug 28, 2019 at 17:38 comment added Jason Bassford @SonictheAnonymousHedgehog That would only give a threshold of 20% positive (far too low as far as I'm concerned), and it also wouldn't take volume into account.
Aug 28, 2019 at 17:22 comment added Sonic the Anonymous Hedgehog @JasonBassford How about exempting them if the author would earn a net positive reputation from the post?
Aug 28, 2019 at 17:21 comment added Sonic the Anonymous Hedgehog Also, if it's your own bug report that was downvoted, what should I put in a self-answer? "this bug should be fixed"?
May 23, 2019 at 14:38 comment added Jason Bassford I was trying to think of a formula for a threshold that seemed reasonable to me. I note that in your +10/-25 case, the positive votes account for 28% of the total, while in the +100/-115 case, it's 47%. I certainly don't think that the latter should be automatically scrubbed—but I'm quite as convinced about the former. I'd say a threshold of at least 40% positive should keep it safe. Perhaps that number could decrease as the total number of votes increases. For instance, even if +10/-25 should be deleted, I don't think the same should be true for +100/-250—given how popular it was.
May 23, 2019 at 14:27 comment added Monica Cellio @rene controversial FRs sometimes signal real underlying problems where the community disagrees with the specific feature proposal. (Don't have examples handy, but I've definitely seen this.) I'm not sure we want to automatically lose that; communities can already delete these questions themselves if they're really not valuable.
May 23, 2019 at 14:25 comment added rene But specially for feature request we should optimize for pearls and keeping those mixed signals FR's around is keeping too much sand to work with. Maybe for bug reports, but I'm meh about it.
May 23, 2019 at 14:18 history answered Monica Cellio CC BY-SA 4.0