Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

4
  • 9
    "I also know, from direct experience, that some of our sites do have problems" Is this an unnecessary source of friction in this whole topic, I wonder? The blog and other company-authored posts seem to keep saying "Stack Overflow", but are they thinking about the whole network? For example, how does acrimony in comments on Politics compare to Stack Overflow? I'd be willing to bet (though prepared to lose) that it's higher, at least proportionally -- but maybe even absolutely. More specificity from SE might be useful. (Even the title of this question says "the site"...)
    – jscs
    Commented Dec 4, 2018 at 22:58
  • 3
    @JoshCaswell I can't speak for all sites, but I know that some of the sites I'm active on have this problem worse than others. How they compare to SO I can't really say, as I'm not active there. Moderators (justifiably) delete a lot of comments on Workplace, for example -- and I'm a mod there, not somebody picking on them from outside. Commented Dec 5, 2018 at 3:40
  • 3
    Except being mildly "unwelcoming" (with shock, horror, snark) is not the same as being a jerk.
    – Raedwald
    Commented Dec 5, 2018 at 16:02
  • 5
    @JoshCaswell From experience, some other SE sites have far worse culture than SO. Easier for skewed sub-cultures to grow when there are fewer users and moderators.
    – Lundin
    Commented Dec 6, 2018 at 10:25